Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Standard Phantom 3 Standard wifi unstable

Discussion in 'Phantom 3 Help' started by krakatoa56, Jan 10, 2016.

  1. krakatoa56

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2015
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Dorset, England
    Just had my first flight with my new Phantom 3 Standard. I have had a Phantom 2 Vision for a couple of years so am pretty competent flying.

    Before the flight I installed the latest DJI Go app on my HTC one and used this to install connect to the Phantom and install the latest firmware as requested by the app. Ground test looked fine so went to a nearby field well away from obstructions lines etc where I have flown the Phantom 2 Vision many times with no problem. The P3S flew very nicely and I tested all the modes and P/A/F successfully took some video and stills but several times the message lost signal appeared on the app. Whe the message was on screen I still had full RC control but the video link froze then cleared so I am guessing this meant that it had lost WiFi. I was never further away than 230 feet horizontally and about 170 feet in altitude so this is a bit disappointing, Any ideas would be appreciated.
     
  2. mandalay

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2015
    Messages:
    587
    Likes Received:
    141
    That's way too short of a distance to lose video signal. Try to reset Wifi or use a different device if you have one.
     
  3. krakatoa56

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2015
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Dorset, England
    Thanks, I agree with my P2V I had solid Wifi out to 500 feet plus. I will try another phone. What exactly do you mean by resetting the wifi?
     
  4. mandalay

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2015
    Messages:
    587
    Likes Received:
    141
    Here are the instructions in the manual.
    ImageUploadedByPhantomPilots1452451494.468621.jpg
     
    krakatoa56 likes this.
  5. krakatoa56

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2015
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Dorset, England
    Great thanks. As always reading the manual helps!!!

    I will try it tomorrow and see what happens.
     
  6. t0mb0la

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2016
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Manchester UK
    Took my first flight this morning, wanted to try to catch the sunrise with my new P3S.
    I am new to UAVs, so started with Beginner mode; all went well and reached 30m range limit quickly.
    No issues with controller range or live video, (although I later found I'd not recorded when I thought I had, but rather when I thought I'd not - only take off and landings).

    Happy with how easy the craft operation was, I switched off Beginner to try a slightly higher altitude.
    Got to about 50m and the DJI Go app lost connection, no more live video. I still had control, so I cancelled the return to home prompt and descended manually.
    About 35m away, the live video reconnected. Tried again by moving the craft further across the field; at a similar distance of 50m the live video was lost.

    I was flying the quad on football fields in the local park, with perfect LOS. Definately not impressed with the range of the WiFi.
    I'll try again with my Hudl2 - (Samsung Galaxy Ace seemed up to the job, but maybe not?), if that is not better - what else to try?
     
  7. krakatoa56

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2015
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Dorset, England
    Interesting that you have had wifi problems a well t0mbola, sound moreconsistently a range issue than mine as I lost wifi even close in but then had good wifi further out at times. I am going to try a wifi reset tomorrow as Mandalay suggested and see if that helps.
     
  8. krakatoa56

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2015
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Dorset, England
    OK Today at last the weather was OK to test my Phantom 3 Standard after resetting the wifi and uninstalling and reinstalling the DJI Go app. GREAT NEWS! It worked I had a solid wifi throughout the fight and took video and stills with no problem. I flew in P/A/F modes and all worked as advertised. Thanks Mandalay for you advice. I am still not sure whether it was the resetting of the wifi or the reinstalling of the app that did the trick. My guess is the app, but anyone else with the problem should probably do both.
     
    mandalay likes this.
  9. Klnyc

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2015
    Messages:
    256
    Likes Received:
    79
    Cool I will note this tips.
     
  10. t0mb0la

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2016
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Manchester UK
    Still waiting on the weather to improve here.
    Glad to hear of your success krakatoa56.
    I will try both, resetting and reinstalling, the first opportunity I get.
     
  11. krakatoa56

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2015
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Dorset, England
    Good Luck, hope all goes well.
     
  12. mandalay

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2015
    Messages:
    587
    Likes Received:
    141
    Glad to hear your issue is resolved.
     
  13. markstoys

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2015
    Messages:
    236
    Likes Received:
    19
    does the drone need to be powered on when doing this reset my light on the controller turns red and green color not solid
     
    #13 markstoys, Jan 14, 2016
    Last edited: Jan 14, 2016
  14. mandalay

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2015
    Messages:
    587
    Likes Received:
    141
    For Wifi reset, the drone does not need to be on. But you might have a different issue, possibly the controller is not connected to the drone. In this case, you need to turn on the drone and see if it's linked first.
    ImageUploadedByPhantomPilots1452821335.916933.jpg
     
  15. markstoys

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2015
    Messages:
    236
    Likes Received:
    19
    thank you,my drone is connecting but has had the same issue more so after updating filmware like yours so just turn on controller flip s2 switch three times and hold wheel to the right how long will it take and when im doing this and has happened the light blinks from re to green back and forth
     
  16. mandalay

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2015
    Messages:
    587
    Likes Received:
    141
    So if you did it correctly, the Wifi SSID is reset to default; password is 12341234. Check if your mobile device is connected to this Wifi network.
     
  17. markstoys

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2015
    Messages:
    236
    Likes Received:
    19
    that I did not do I only turned on the controller so I should have my tabet on also man im stupid
     
  18. mandalay

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2015
    Messages:
    587
    Likes Received:
    141
    So you are good to go?
     
  19. markstoys

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2015
    Messages:
    236
    Likes Received:
    19
    I'm going to need step by step confused first do I turn on only the controller or everything including the tablet the go into WiFi on the app under WiFi which I did comes up with 1234124 then says restart drone later or now something like that
     
    #19 markstoys, Jan 15, 2016
    Last edited: Jan 15, 2016
  20. mandalay

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2015
    Messages:
    587
    Likes Received:
    141
    Here are the steps:
    1. Turn on the controller
    2. Go to your mobile device and turn on Wifi
    3. Connect to the Wifi network that you reset (should be Phantom_xxx) and enter password 12341234. Make sure it's connected.
    4. Turn on the drone
    5. Launch DJI Go app on your mobile device and tap on Enter Camera View
    6. You should see a live view from the drone's camera
    7. Use the gimbal dial on the controller and see if you can tilt the camera up and down. If so, you should be good to go since the controller is linked to the drone