Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Phantom 3 Standard Antennas

Discussion in 'Standard/4k Discussion' started by Willk, May 31, 2016.

  1. Willk

    Joined:
    May 30, 2016
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    20
    What antennas do you guys use, I'm going to order DBS for phantom 3 standard but wanted to see what else there is


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  2. Procharged97

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2016
    Messages:
    998
    Likes Received:
    358
    Location:
    Canterbury, CT
    What do you plan on doing? Long distance flights. I have the dbs panel and boosters and a 5.8 helical. Check out horizon fpv antennas.. they have a new one coming out soon for our standards and should be better than the small dbs panel...but it all depends on what you want to. There are more options now for the standard
     
  3. Willk

    Joined:
    May 30, 2016
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    20
    Yeah looking to do long distance flights


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  4. Procharged97

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2016
    Messages:
    998
    Likes Received:
    358
    Location:
    Canterbury, CT
  5. Procharged97

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2016
    Messages:
    998
    Likes Received:
    358
    Location:
    Canterbury, CT
    A guy on here is a distance flyer...goes by the name Dirtybum cgeck out some of his threads...hes tested pretty much everything and has got crazy distance with the phantom..hes going to be testing a new one soon This is gonna be fun! (Distance tests)
     
  6. JamesO

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2016
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    2
    I'm interested in getting more range, too.

    I read through the first 10 or so pages of Dirtybum's thread, but it's pretty sophisticated territory I'm not sure I want to get into. I'm interested in keeping my remote somewhat compact as well.

    Right now my max distance is 1200 feet, and max altitude is just over 1000 feet. I'd love to get my distance to 5000 feet, but nothing crazy. Nothing close to Dirtybum's 40,000 :D

    I've wondered if it'd be better to watch for a Phantom 3 Advanced remote in the classifieds or go with the DBS Standard.
     
  7. Willk

    Joined:
    May 30, 2016
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    20
    I feel the same way I don't want any sophisticated antennas that go 40,000 ft. I want some thing around a $100 that will let me go at least a mile.
    I'm going with DBS because it's $115, pretty simple to install, and I've seen some videos on YouTube of people getting almost 3 miles out of it.


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  8. Procharged97

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2016
    Messages:
    998
    Likes Received:
    358
    Location:
    Canterbury, CT
    The asvanced and pro remotes wont work with the srandard. Look at the last few pages of this is going to be fun...Tony has got well over 5000' with the dbs on his standard. You shiuld easily make your 5000' goal and then some with the dbs panel if your in a non congested area!
     
  9. Procharged97

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2016
    Messages:
    998
    Likes Received:
    358
    Location:
    Canterbury, CT
    If your looking for a mile or two the DBS is more than enough...but when you want mire range (and you probably will) just add boosters
     
  10. romeo

    Joined:
    May 5, 2016
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    3
    Can you pls post a photo of your rc.. thanks bro
     
  11. Procharged97

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2016
    Messages:
    998
    Likes Received:
    358
    Location:
    Canterbury, CT
    Here you go
     

    Attached Files:

    JamesO likes this.
  12. Willk

    Joined:
    May 30, 2016
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    20
    What's your range?


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
    DLD likes this.
  13. Procharged97

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2016
    Messages:
    998
    Likes Received:
    358
    Location:
    Canterbury, CT
    Still doing testing..where i fly is super dense woods and sunk in a bowl...stock was under a 1000' in this spot...i was abke to go over 4000' aiming in the wrong direction lol...didnt lose connection long enough for RTH but i turned around anyway...this how bad it is..check it out
     

    Attached Files:

  14. RZR_Jim

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2016
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    37
    Location:
    Colorado Springs
    Holy cow....forget line of sight! lol Looks like an awesome place to live.
     
  15. JamesO

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2016
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    2
    Thanks, guys. I ordered the DBS.

    @Procharged97, the blue cables are rad. Can you point me to where I can find some?
     
  16. Procharged97

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2016
    Messages:
    998
    Likes Received:
    358
    Location:
    Canterbury, CT
    Sure just go on eBay and search for rg402 sma's cables...there will be a bunch. Your going to need SMA Male for the antenna side and RP-SMA Male for the rc side... I would get the right angle connectors since the blue rg402 cable is pretty stiff. Hey post some results before and after the DBS mod!!!


    Sent from my iPad using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  17. Procharged97

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2016
    Messages:
    998
    Likes Received:
    358
    Location:
    Canterbury, CT
    It is nice out here but sucks for distance flying!! Lol


    Sent from my iPad using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  18. JamesO

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2016
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    2
    I will! Thanks for your help.
     
  19. Garry C

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2016
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    34
    james i get about the same. id like 300 to 400 feet max. main reason is there is a building id like to be able to fly around and to do so i need 3100 feet max distance to do this
     
  20. mikep2323

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2015
    Messages:
    262
    Likes Received:
    57
    I have the blue cables as well but I would recommend getting different ones that aren't so stiff. They have some better ones that are softer and bend better. I found them after I got the blue ones and i spent alot of money on them and didn't want them to go to waste. Long story but I'll search around to find a link later.
     
    JamesO likes this.