Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Phantom 3 STANDARD antenna upgrade

Discussion in 'Standard/4k Discussion' started by Dataa2, Aug 21, 2015.

  1. Dataa2

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2015
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    46
    Does anyone know if and where there's a kit to upgrade the phantom 3 Standard versions antennas ? Want more distance and reliable connection signal quality. I know all 3 antennas are just 2.4ghz and easily removed from the controller just what antennas do you need other than 3 pigtails to the board ?
     
    DBS likes this.
  2. Wibble

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2015
    Messages:
    1,313
    Likes Received:
    478
    Location:
    Brecon Beacons Wales UK
    Look at the DBS mod - plenty of posts just below this one!!!
     
    phantom13flyer likes this.
  3. tcope

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2015
    Messages:
    3,515
    Likes Received:
    1,387
    Location:
    Salt Lake City, UT
    For an additional $200 you can get 1.2 miles. The kit is the Phantom 3 Advanced.
     
    Chris Paul, Bigdz, D4T_PoM and 5 others like this.
  4. Dataa2

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2015
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    46
    It was a gift so I'm trying to make the best of it. And the other thread just like you knocks the p3s. And is very vague on actual equipment for the upgrade. If you want to offer good information great if your just knocking us unfortunate soles who got a p3s move along.
     
    Ted S, STAINLESS, Wanted and 6 others like this.
  5. leekiya

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2014
    Messages:
    1,103
    Likes Received:
    145
    Location:
    Lee. UK
    Keep a eye on FPVLR and DBS elite, they will have a mod kit for them soon enough no doubt. I would contact tony at FPVLR, he will be all over this and have the upgrades on his website as soon as he is done. He will have them going plenty far enough don't worry about that.
     
    Fplvert likes this.
  6. Fplvert

    Joined:
    May 28, 2014
    Messages:
    1,559
    Likes Received:
    708
    Location:
    Southern Idaho USA
    david wettlaufer, dirkclod and Alex_ like this.
  7. Dataa2

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2015
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    46
    Not grumpy just find it counter productive for people to tell you your rig is the issue. Am I correct the mods for the vision are the same for the p3s ? There's not much info on the subject of modding a p3s just allot of smack talk. So the DBS mod for vision is the same for p3s. It's 2.4ghz ? Lots of 5ghz stuff out there.
     
    clivek_77, dirkclod and Fplvert like this.
  8. Fplvert

    Joined:
    May 28, 2014
    Messages:
    1,559
    Likes Received:
    708
    Location:
    Southern Idaho USA
    As far as I know, you're the first one looking to mod your P3S for more range.

    I do know that your bird uses wifi 2.4 ghz so the Vision mods should work. There's a sticky thread on the P2V+ forum you might check out.
     
    dirkclod likes this.
  9. tcope

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2015
    Messages:
    3,515
    Likes Received:
    1,387
    Location:
    Salt Lake City, UT
    My apologies, I did not think anyone had a Standard yet. If that were the case I was recommending going with the Advanced because you wanted distance. You will need to wait. I'm sure someone is working on better antennas, it will just be a few months before they would be announced.
     
  10. Dataa2

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2015
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    46
    So basically box it back up. Hock it on eBay and get an advanced ?
     
  11. Fplvert

    Joined:
    May 28, 2014
    Messages:
    1,559
    Likes Received:
    708
    Location:
    Southern Idaho USA
    To be honest, I would. Lightbridge is awesome.
     
  12. BenDronePilot

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2013
    Messages:
    1,204
    Likes Received:
    131
    No the radio control is 5.8ghz and the fpv feed is 2.4 ghz. The P3 Standard works like the P2 Vision plus . You can likely get any mod kid for the vision / vision plus for it
     
    robiefield likes this.
  13. garrock

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2014
    Messages:
    466
    Likes Received:
    47
    Location:
    Portsmouth Ohio USA
    The P3S will turn out to be a big hit. The LightBridge in the P3A and P3P is very cool tech but the lower cost P3S along with a camera performance twist (2.7K) creates a very competitive market price point.

    Dataa2. .. I have a few pieces of tech that can make the P3S fly into places a P3A, P3P, or Inspire 1 can't close close to doing.

    I sent you a PM. Please read.
     
    TWebb likes this.
  14. dirkclod

    dirkclod Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2014
    Messages:
    10,635
    Likes Received:
    5,698
    Location:
    Amory Mississippi
    Would really love to see some pictures of inside the TX of the way the extender is set up and how the antenna cables are attached for both
    the 2.4 and 5.8 .
    It seems to me you could take the itelite panel for the Plus and add the attachment that holds it to the P and A and that would give you more distance.
    Need pictures !!!
     
  15. Dataa2

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2015
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    46
    I've got a DBS mod coming. As soon as I get it I'll open up the rc and post pix
     
    Dirty Bird and dirkclod like this.
  16. dirkclod

    dirkclod Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2014
    Messages:
    10,635
    Likes Received:
    5,698
    Location:
    Amory Mississippi
    Have you stretched it out yet so you can see just what the panel adds ?
     
  17. dirkclod

    dirkclod Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2014
    Messages:
    10,635
    Likes Received:
    5,698
    Location:
    Amory Mississippi
    Hey dawg.. I find this funny cause as well as you know me and you seen it when it was announced at the same time as I did It was 2.4 and 5.8
    you had to know my wheels were spinning :D
    I just love making them do what they say they won't !
    I know it's not like the others but the camera is better than the FC200 and without that sonar thing or whatever it is which I wouldn't need anyway
    leaves a good spot for my tracker .
    I do wish it had a camera button on the TX . Now if it had the same functions with the S1 and S2 as mine does ya know I would be drooling :)
    I do like to wish a lot huh :rolleyes:
     
    Fplvert likes this.
  18. Dataa2

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2015
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    46
    In a wide open clear area miles from anyone's wifi I get about 1km range anything betond that it just starts to drop the link and it returns home. I'm hoping to get around 2 or 3 km. but anything beyond 1 km I'd be happy.
     
    iquadtography and dirkclod like this.
  19. dirkclod

    dirkclod Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2014
    Messages:
    10,635
    Likes Received:
    5,698
    Location:
    Amory Mississippi
    Well you have tried so you will know !!!
    Can't wait to see your results after the panel is installed :)
     
  20. SimonH78

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2014
    Messages:
    320
    Likes Received:
    52
    Location:
    UK-Lancashire
    You get 1600ft crystal clear HD reception on a P3S I have seen it in action with trees in full leave and building in the way too!! - Why have more as its distance is limited to this by the GO app anyway - it cant go any further.!!