Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Phantom 3 Propellers

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by BEN_M16, Apr 9, 2015.

  1. BEN_M16

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2015
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    2
    Are the same propellers than phantom 2??? or more bigger???
     
  2. TeamYankee

    Joined:
    May 30, 2014
    Messages:
    491
    Likes Received:
    42
    Location:
    Swansea, Wales, UK
    It has the same frame size as the Phantom 2 - so most likely the "thrust boosted" props.
     
  3. BEN_M16

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2015
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    2
    But in tech specs Phantom 3 is 10 cm more bigger than phantom 2, in diagonal and with propellers....
     
  4. Meta4

    Meta4 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7,763
    Likes Received:
    3,470
    No .. the P3 is the same size as the P2 but the landing gear is slightly taller and wider.
    The confusion is because they have used measurements with and without props
    The specs on www.dji.com say
    P3
    Diagonal size (including propellers)
    689 mm

    P2V+
    Diagonal motor-motor distance
    350mm

    The props are the same size but I suspect that the P3's have different hubs to ensure they are not unscrewed with the dynamic braking used by their new ESCs.
     
    Birdu2 likes this.
  5. BEN_M16

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2015
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    2
    Meta 4, I have the Phantom 2 Vision, and the real size in diagonal with propellers are 59cm, I sized it yesterday.

    You can see that the new phantom 3 size is 68,9cm, 10cm more big than the phantom 2.
     
  6. Meta4

    Meta4 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7,763
    Likes Received:
    3,470
  7. BEN_M16

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2015
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    2
    Then, If the distance from motors are the same than previous Phantom, then the propellers must be bigger........ to reach at 68,9cm.
     
  8. TeamYankee

    Joined:
    May 30, 2014
    Messages:
    491
    Likes Received:
    42
    Location:
    Swansea, Wales, UK
    Here's a close up of the motor and hub assembly
    upload_2015-4-9_10-41-19.png
     
  9. BEN_M16

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2015
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    2
    We need a propellers photo, to see the number engraved in it. 9450 ? 9443 ?
     
  10. Meta4

    Meta4 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7,763
    Likes Received:
    3,470
    Or maybe the number in the specs is wrong because bigger props would hit each other.
    Can you see how you could fit bigger props on this P2V+ ?
    Here's another DJI tech guy confirming that the Phantoms and props are the same size
    http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showpost.php?p=31287272&postcount=146
    [​IMG]
     
    #10 Meta4, Apr 9, 2015
    Last edited: Apr 9, 2015
  11. simonwicks

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2015
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Leeds, UK
    The props on the demo units I saw at the event were 9450's. So they're the same.
     
  12. BEN_M16

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2015
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    2
    Perfect.
    I can use my propellers and box.
     
  13. Meta4

    Meta4 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7,763
    Likes Received:
    3,470
    Props are the same size - BUT the hubs are different so your old ones won't fit.
     
  14. simonwicks

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2015
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Leeds, UK
    Would the model number on the props not be different if they were in fact different props with a different hub size?
     
  15. Meta4

    Meta4 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7,763
    Likes Received:
    3,470
    #15 Meta4, Apr 9, 2015
    Last edited: Apr 9, 2015
  16. BEN_M16

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2015
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    2
    But you can cut the foam inside the box, to adapt it to new phantom 3, the important is the main design be more o less the samen as phantom 2.
     
  17. simonwicks

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2015
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Leeds, UK
    Well that's sure to be confusing to some when trying to order the right props then!

    Probably me.
     
  18. N017RW

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Messages:
    6,256
    Likes Received:
    1,617
    Location:
    Palm Beach Co.- FL
    They also spec the nominal voltage of their 4S LiPo at 15.2v when the rest of the world uses 14.8v for a 4S.
     
  19. BEN_M16

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2015
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    2
    Then, Can I use the Carbon Fiber reinforced propeller from DJI, with Phantom 3 ??? are compatible?? or must use a new type of propeller?
     
  20. Meta4

    Meta4 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7,763
    Likes Received:
    3,470
    As has been said 100 times - you have to use the P3 propellers not old P2 props
    Just read a few posts back and you'd know that.