Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Phantom 3 4k transmitter 2 antennas?

Discussion in 'Standard/4k Discussion' started by harry9s, Feb 2, 2016.

  1. harry9s

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2016
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    5
    While looking at the photos of the phantom 3 4k I noticed that the transmitter appears to have the 2 antennas for light bridge, unlike the standard/p2 vision+ etc. which have 1 antenna for rc control with the wifi inside the transmitter. The documentation for the 4k states it doesn't have light bridge, which makes sense because it is the only feature separating it from the professional.

    Seems unlikely, but is it possible that DJI is just reducing the antenna power and re-branding the professional as the 4k?
     
  2. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,931
    Likes Received:
    5,576
    Location:
    US
    Nope. It really does use Wi-Fi.
     
  3. harry9s

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2016
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    5
    Then why the 2 antennas?
     
  4. zitrojj

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2016
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    Queens NYC
    Not sure how accurate is this.

    The antenna configuration of the Phantom 3 is called MIMO which stands for Multi in Multi Out. MIMO uses the combined signal from both of the antennas to achieve faster throughput.

    I got this info from this post:
    Extreme Long Range with Tree Antenna and Phantom 3 PRO
     
  5. mandalay

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2015
    Messages:
    593
    Likes Received:
    144
    There is no Lightbridge in P3 4K; it has the same 3 antennas: 2 2.4GHz for video and 1 5.8GHz for RC control just just like P2V+ and P3S. See the 0:40 second mark of the video below. It's basically a P3S with 4K camera plus VPS just like P3A/P.
     
  6. harry9s

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2016
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    5
    Yes but why does it seemingly have the same range as the standard which only has 1 (external) antenna?
     
  7. zitrojj

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2016
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    Queens NYC
    You may have the same range based on terrain and obstructions but you may lose signals. Have you tested this theory? It would be interesting to know. I am sure there are many post about the range between the two. I was simply answering the question about the antennas.
     
  8. harry9s

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2016
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    5
    I don't actually have the 4k, just the standard. Just going off the specifications from dji. Would be interesting to see if there is a difference.