Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Phantom 2 Yaw problem

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Discussion' started by Hardy, Jan 8, 2015.

  1. Hardy

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi all.

    I am entirely new to quadcopter flying (well, a week or so in), and am having a problem with my copter.

    When I unboxed I was in the UK, and everything seemed to work as it should. I have since come back to Thailand, and have had ongoing issues for the last few days.

    At first the Phantom wouldn't/couldn't get a GPS lock, but was flying fine without GPS. After repeated compass calibration, it now has GPS lock, but in GPS mode continually spins (albeit slowly) to the left, making flight harder than without GPS as I have to continually compensate!

    Can anyone shed any light on this?

    Many thanks :)
     
  2. jason

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014
    Messages:
    4,105
    Likes Received:
    404
    Location:
    Commerce Twp,MI
    Have you done a complete calibration of both the RC & phantom including advance IMU? If not do so.
     
  3. Hardy

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    No. Will google those now, get them done and report back - cheers! :)
     
  4. jason

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014
    Messages:
    4,105
    Likes Received:
    404
    Location:
    Commerce Twp,MI
    You mean say you don't have your assistant software on you computer. Do you have the latest firmware loaded in your unit?
     
  5. Hardy

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have downloaded the assistant software. Haven't as yet done any firmware upgrades. Looking into that now - had assumed the unit would be up to date out of the box as it's brand new.
     
  6. Hardy

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well that was embarrassingly easy, thanks Jason!

    As I said, completely new to this and have struggled with some of the advice online, and getting to grips with the terminology. No longer rotating randomly, GPS seems fine. It does seem to lose or gain a little altitude on hover (and drift a little). I think this is down to the IMU? The assistant says no need to calibrate, but perhaps I should anyway?
     
  7. Buckaye

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2014
    Messages:
    1,557
    Likes Received:
    420
    Location:
    Orlando

    GPS isn't perfect - a little drift here and there should be expected
     
  8. jason

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014
    Messages:
    4,105
    Likes Received:
    404
    Location:
    Commerce Twp,MI
    Yes do it anyways and use the advanced IMU. If a warning says it's to hot ignore the warning. Also check in the upgrade and see if there are any updates.