Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Phantom 2 with Boscam 5.8Ghz 500mw Video Transmitter

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Discussion' started by Mattycee, Jan 10, 2014.

  1. Mattycee

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2014
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am getting my Phantom 2 next week and cannot seem to find a definitive answer anywhere around.
    I am wanting to grab the FPV kit below:-
    (The Storm All In One Easy) http://www.helipal.com/storm-all-in-one ... -easy.html

    It has the Boscam 5.8ghz video transmitter and I was wondering how it is powered with the Phantom 2? I understand that with the Phantom 1 you could use a splitter on the battery but with the enclosed type battery on the Phantom 2 I am not sure how it is powered. I have seen a cable that plugs into the Phantom 2 (You remove the included Cam cable) but I am not sure if that works in this case.

    I just want the FPV for the GoPro shots (So I can see what is being filmed) as opposed to FPV flying as I'll probably stick to line of sight.

    Hope someone can answer me?
    Thanks
    Matt
     
  2. phantasm

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2013
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Great Britain (South East)
    Hi Matt,
    The Phantom 1 uses the balance lead on the battery to power the transmitter. As you rightly said, the Phantom 2 uses the same enclosed battery as the Vision. If you look underneath the body you'll see a bunch of un-terminated coloured cables. These provide power to the transmitter, plus vidoe out from the GoPro. You'll just need to solder them up

    Cheers
    Adrian
     
  3. Mattycee

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2014
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks Adrian I appreciate the info. At least I know I can grab it and it will work.
     
  4. FASTFJR

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2013
    Messages:
    1,201
    Likes Received:
    169
    Location:
    South East PA

    I was looking at the same system, you say solder………could I put male / female plugs on to make it removable ?


    Thanks
     
  5. zoochase

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2013
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Those are some pretty small wires to use connectors. I soldered all mine was able to run them into the body. Just unplug the transmitter if you want to remove it. It has removable connections.
     
  6. noreason4

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2013
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    What are the expected flight times with a 500mw transmitter? Anyone already using this setup? How far can you go in a citylike environment?