Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Phantom 2 VS Phantom 2 Vision- Frequencies

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Dadman, Dec 29, 2013.

  1. Dadman

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Dear Fellow Phantom Pilots,
    I recently purchased a Phantom 2 with Zenmuse Gimbal & GoPro Hero 3+. I considered purchasing the Phantom 2 Vision, but I went with the Zenmuse Gimbal GoPro Hero 3+ set-up as the Zenmuse offers multi-axis tilt, whereas the Phantom 2 Vision camera only offers single axis tilt.
    I'm happy with the Phantom 2 with Zenmuse Gimbal set-up but I'm amazed that this advanced set-up does not allow for in-flight camera control when the less expensive Vision does. What is really a mystery is that dji REVERSED the frequencies on their Vision to allow WiFi camrea control.
    The Phantom 2 with Zenmuse Gimbal & GoPro Hero 3+ transmits on a frequency of 2.4GHz with a video down-link of 5.8GHz. The Phantom 2 Vision is reversed and transmits on a frequency of 5.8GHz with a WiFi control (video down-link) of 2.4GHz. The GoPro Hero 3+ also has a WiFi control (video down-link) of 2.4GHz.
    WHY DIDN'T DJI SET-UP THEIR PHANTOM 2 THE SAME WAY THEY SET-UP THEIR PHANTOM 2 VISION? This would allow WiFi control of the GoPro Hero 3+ while in the air. AS it is I have to start the GoPro Hero 3+ on the ground, then let it "auto operate" with no control of it while in the air. This is a totally archaic approach and IMO a HUGE oversight on the part of dji.
    FYI- I have read posts where users have had their Phantom 2 "fly-off" because they had the Go Pro Hero 2.4GHz WiFi on and it interfered with the 2.4GHz transmitter on the Phantom 2.
    Any ideas or work-arounds to this?
     
  2. discv

    Joined:
    May 7, 2013
    Messages:
    619
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    London, UK
    And this is why I am waiting for the FC40 to appear on the scene.

    Pros-5.8 controlled, leaving 2.4 free for camera/ no fancy,double dear battery

    Cons- less flight time per charge, shorter range
     
  3. Dadman

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the reply discv,

    Is the FC40 a dji dual gimbal mount, similar to the Zenmuse? You say you're "waiting for it"... when will it be available? AGAIN why not release this camera on the Phantom 2?
    • So 2.4GHz allows for more distance on the transmitter?
    • What is the operational distance comparison between transmitting on 5.8GHz or 2.4GHz?
    • What about the 2.4GHz WiFi transmitter boost system currently available on the Vision?
    It seems the ideal set-up would be a Phantom 2 (or Phantom 2 Vision 2) with the FC40 mount, transmitting on 5.8GHz with 2.4GHz WiFi.


    THANKS!
    Dadman
     
  4. rilot

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2013
    Messages:
    842
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Twyford, UK
    FC40 is a fixed, low-quality camera. It only shoots in 720p30 so isn't even as good as the camera on the Vision, let alone a GoPro.
     
  5. krb

    krb

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2013
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    As I understand it, the Phantom Vision is 5.8Ghz for control and then 2.4Ghz wifi for video. That implies a few things:

    - 5.8Ghz is higher frequency for antennas for it can be smaller, but it's also gets you less distance for the same transmit power. Also, 5.8Ghz is more easily blocked by objects like trees, walls, etc. For control, that makes me nervous.

    - The video isn't just 2.4Ghz but actually wifi (I don't know if it's 802.11b or 802.11n). This is not the same as a 2.4Ghz video TX/RX system. On the plus side, this means you can view it on your iOS or Android device. On the negative side, there's going to be a bit more latency than a regular FPV system.
    [edit]
    Apparerently the Teradek Clip (http://www.teradek.com/pages/clip) has 4 frames of latency. That seems really good. It will also let you use 5.8Ghz wifi so it can get along with a 2.4Ghz controller. You can solve the distance problems using the same ideas the guys in the "more powerful repeater" thread are using. Actually there are a bunch of well known solutions to extending wifi long ranges.
    [/edit]
     
  6. discv

    Joined:
    May 7, 2013
    Messages:
    619
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    London, UK
    For sure, my interest in the FC 40 is not the camera!

    My aim is to use the preview on a GoPro on a v1.1.1 Phantom. This looks like my way forward, given that the limits in flight time and range are not an issue. To me that is.
     
  7. Dadman

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Dear Fellow Phantom Pilots,
    Thanks for all your replies, information and suggestions.
    I like the Phantom 2, Zenmuse Gimbal, Hero GoPro 3+ camera set-up. The element that is missing is the ability to control the GoPro while in flight: Specifically to operate the shutter to take still images and to start & stop recording video.
    There are also a lot of settings using the WiFi control of the Phanton 2 Vision, such as exposure, that can be done while in flight that could effect the quality of the images. Using the Phantom 2, I have to set these on the GoPro Hero 3+ before launch and I have no control of the camera while in flight.
    I've set the GoPro Hero 3+ for simultaneous stills and video, and then I fly and record images.This isn't bad, but it burns a lot of memory on useless images as I fly the Phantom 2 to the location and angle of the shot(s) I want.
    IS THERE ANY SYSTEM OR MODIFICATION THAT CAN BE DONE TO THE PHANTOM 2, ZENMUSE GIMBAL, HERO GOPRO 3+ SET-UP THAT WILL ALLOW CONTROL OF THE GOPRO HERO 3+ WHILE IN FLIGHT that will not interfere with the control of the Phantom 2?
     
  8. FASTFJR

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2013
    Messages:
    1,199
    Likes Received:
    169
    Location:
    South East PA
    Nothing yet, one simple thing you could do is just get a larger card for the GP. Its not an end solution but will help some. A few weeks ago I bought a 64GB class 10 card at Costco for about 20 bucks