Phantom 2 users... upgrade to Phantom 4?

For a P2 owner, which upgrade would you make?

• Total voters
  • Poll closed .
Reaction score
I know this has been touched on in other threads but I want to focus a discussion on just considering the P4 upgrade for P2 owners.

In my case I have a P2V+ and I'm upgrading to SOMETHING this month. The question is whether it will be a P3P or a P4.

I have a nice GPC case and 3 batteries with my otherwise vanilla P2V+ setup.

I know I'd have to buy new batteries regardless of P3P or P4, but P3P batteries are cheaper but P4 batteries last longer. I see myself with 2 batteries eventually if I go P4, whereas I'll want 3 with a P3.

I'm no pro but I'm comfortable with flyin my P2V+ so the obstacle avoidance and subject tracking are neat and I'd use them but they're not critical to my primary upgrade goal of increasing the photo/video quality of my subjects, whether as a hobbyist or if I start dabbling with freelance commercial work (pending all the AIRR act stuff).

So it ultimately comes down to whether some of those niceties are worth the $400 difference between P3P and P4.

P3P accessories and parts will probably drop in price with the release of P4, which is a plus for a P3P purchase.

One final consideration that I haven't heard much talk of: I really like the thought of the gimbal being mounted more securely in the P4. It just feels so naked and vulnerable in the P2/P3 series.

Anyway... thoughts?

josh

p.s. Help me out and vote your opinion on top of responding to the thread :-D

I know this has been touched on in other threads but I want to focus a discussion on just considering the P4 upgrade for P2 owners.

In my case I have a P2V+ and I'm upgrading to SOMETHING this month. The question is whether it will be a P3P or a P4.