Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Phantom 2 no vision high quality FPV system help

Discussion in 'FPV (First Person View)' started by bclemms, Sep 10, 2014.

  1. bclemms

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2014
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Been doing a lot of reading and there is just so much information out there and a whole lot of products, some aren't compatible with others and think I've finally got an idea what I need to put together a good FPV system that gets HD and consistent range in excess of 1km. If some of you can give some feedback, let me know if I'm going down a bad path or have an idea to improve this setup please let me know.

    I have the phantom 2 with 3d gimbal and black edition go pro.

    Looking to add the following.
    Black Pearl 5.8Ghz 7 channel monitor
    Black pearl 7" charger
    ImmersionRC 5.8GHz 32CH A/V 600mW Transmitter (TS832) http://www.getfpv.com/5-8ghz-32ch-a-v-6 ... ts832.html
    5.8Ghz antenna bundle w/SMA Male http://fpvlr.com/shop/index.php?route=p ... duct_id=97
    Sunhans 5.8ghz 2000mw booster/amp http://fpvlr.com/shop/index.php?route=p ... uct_id=109
    DJI iOSD Mini
    Plug and Play Cable: DJI Phantom 2 to iOSD Mini and Fat Shark/ImmersionRC Transmitter http://www.amazon.com/Plug-Play-Cable-I ... +iOSD+Mini
    DJI Monitor mount
    neck strap


    Please let me know if you see any areas that can be improved or items that aren't compatible and of course if I'm missing anything that I would need.

    My goals are to get HD video with very consistent range at a mile out.
     
  2. mr_3_0_5

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2013
    Messages:
    440
    Likes Received:
    0
    looks good but I don't think you need the 5.8ghz amp. you can always email FPVLR at sales@fpvlr.com to clarify.
     
  3. bclemms

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2014
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    I know I don't need the amp but wouldn't it provide better range?
     
  4. QYV

    QYV

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Messages:
    1,814
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    NYC
    you've almost got it, but you've got a few minor problems:

    You want an ImmersionRC 600mW transmitter, but that is NOT the same thing as a Boscam TS832 which you linked, they aren't even compatible. the plug and play cable you link isn't compatible with a TS832.
    This is exactly what you want: http://www.getfpv.com/5-8ghz-600mw-vide ... MgodXkEAqA

    Good call on the FPVLR antennas, I have them they're amazing.
    You do NOT need the second fpvlr item you list, the Sunhans wifi signal booster. That's only for the Vision/Vision+ model Phantoms which do their FPV via wifi. You will not... you're installing 5.8Ghz broadcast FPV

    ok, the above items are fact. This is an opinion:
    This display mount is many people's favorite: http://www.raveaerialvideo.com/product/ ... tor-mount/


    It's very important to understand you will NOT getting HD FPV. The only thing that does that is the $2000+ DJI Lightbridge. You are putting in a SD FPV system, which is totally fine you're mainly using it to line up your shots. The native recordings that the gopro makes will of course be HD based on the GoPro settings... but you aren't broadcasting an HD signal back to that little display. The signal you are broadcasting is more than sufficient to fly around and line up your shots.
    FPV distance will depend on other factors such as local interference and atmospheric conditions. The equipment you are putting in theoretically will reach those distances, yes. the helix antenna on the receiver is capable of that.

    however
    A mile is honestly pushing the realistic limits (as opposed to people who are just going for a record) of a Phantom period. You'll burn nearly half your battery capacity getting to a mile out leaving you a few moments on station before you have to head back before you run out of battery.
     
  5. Alec

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2014
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    http://www.dpcav.com/xcart/Video-Ca...SD-Mini-and-Zenmuse-ImmersionRC-FatShark.html

    I just recently put together my FPV setup similar with what you have listed (Black Pearl w/charger (7Ch, SMA), spare battery, Immersion 600mW, DJI iOSD, plug and play cable, FPVLR SMA combo), except the booster and the monitor mount. You might want to consider checking this place (link above) out. You can get pretty much everything there except Tony's combo antenna.

    good luck,
     
  6. bclemms

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2014
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Awesome information and thank you for taking the time.

    I've considered the lightbridge system but balked because of the price. However, I was thinking the Black Pearl and immersion transmitter transmitted HD video. I know HD video doesn't seem important for an FPV for most but I'm trying to do something a little bit different than most. I'm a storm chaser and do a lot of live streaming from my car to a host site in which media can purchase rights to my stream and then broadcast it on television like The Weather Channel. I think it would be really cool to be able to broadcast a live stream from the phantom during a severe weather event and the following damage video where people could actually be watching my phantom footage live on television. The only hangup at this point seems to be getting an HD feed from the phantom without buying the lightbridge system. HD is important because networks really want the HD footage.

    So with the setup in the OP, this would still bring in a quality SD feed or would it be choppy and distorted?

    Getting a mile out is important because when trying to get tornado damage on a significant tornado I will need that distance. Reason being, when tornadoes do damage to homes and businesses they also block road access by knocking down trees so the range is important. I should have said get consistent signal quality UP TO A MILE instead of consistently above a mile. I understand that terrain, interference and a bunch of other factors will impact the range. Just wanting to be able to get up to a mile if I need to.

    Thanks again, it took me days just to learn what I know now and that isn't very much.
     
  7. QYV

    QYV

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Messages:
    1,814
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    NYC
    def cheapest version of that cable I've seen
     
  8. Mike

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2014
    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    2
    It would be decent for navigating and composing shots but not great for much else. TWC isn't going to put it on the air unless you have some miraculous footage. Also, if you're shooting in a 16:9 aspect, the SD feed from the GoPro will only be 4:3 and letter boxed. If you want clear, HD video, you're going to need to invest in Lightbridge.

    The FPVLR antennas will help out there. I have a 400mw vtx and I've been out to 2.3km with a set of FPVLRs. I lost control signal before video signal.
     
  9. HarryT

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2014
    Messages:
    622
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Warrington, UK
    FPV systems typically produce video with a resolution of around 640x480. As has been said, the purpose of FPV is to see where you are, and to "frame" the HD video that the camera is actually recording.

    Personally I find the resolution of the FPV to be absolutely fine. What you really want from FOV is a decent frame rate; resolution is of distinctly secondary importance.

    Do bear in mind the fact that flying a Phantom in strong wind is not a good idea. If you have wind speeds of more than about 20mph, you run a very real risk of losing it.
     
  10. bclemms

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2014
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok, finally got everything in and ready to get this thing installed. I don't trust myself to do it but the local hobby shop I am going to do it hasn't done this setup before. Can someone point me in the right direction for an instructional video for this exact setup?

    I've been looking at videos for hours and can't seem to find one with the exact setup I have going.
     
  11. QYV

    QYV

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Messages:
    1,814
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    NYC
    this is an old video now, but the concepts are intact and I don't have anything bookmarked that's any closer to your setup. You can do this, seriously it's all plug and play.
    The video starts with opening the shell and then moving the CAN-BUS port from the leg up into the body so you can mount your iOSD internally... that's identical and that's all within the first 2 minutes of the video.

    now, you'll want to plan your cable runs before plugging everything in... you're going to mount the IRC transmitter on the bottom of your phantom, probably pointed out the rear but remember to put it to one side or facing diagonal so that the antenna doesn't interfere with your ability to get out the battery.

    so now... hooking up the plug and play cable. it'll be super obvious which part of the cable plugs into the transmitter... and also which part of the cable plugs into the iOSD Mini. The only other plug is where that cable connects onto the Phantom mainboard... in the same video linked below, skip to 3:39. from 3:39 to 3:45 there's a pause where he highlights some cables... where that cable plugs into the Phantom mainboard is where the only remaining plug from your PnP cable goes.
    another way of describing where your cable links into the mainboard is thus: it's where the 2-pair multicolor cable that was originally taped to the bottom of your Phantom goes.

    after that it's easy... mount the transmitter to the bottom of the Phantom by whatever method you feel best... I personally used outdoor double sided tape and backed it up with a zip tie around the body for insurance. other people here use 3M dual-lock.

    once the transmitter is plugged in.... don't forget to check for a firmware update on the iOSD Mini, since you have to connect directly into the iOSD mini's usb port. There is a specific "iOSD Assistant" software you must get from DJI. once you have confirmed that, you're ready to test.

    you will of course need to pay attention to which frequency/channel you choose on the transmitter via the dip switches, and then tune your receiver/display into that proper frequency. test everything before you seal the Phantom back up but assuming it all works, you're good to go!
    don't forget to turn the GoPRo on (I did the first time.. why no video?) and also don't forget to NEVER power the transmitter (turn the Phantom on) without an antenna attached

    here's the video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TL8pqtEDuos
     
  12. Mike

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2014
    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    2
    Please let us know if TWC ever uses your FPV feed.