Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Phantom 2 gps/compass calibration question

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Help' started by Prydabg, Nov 8, 2015.

  1. Prydabg

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2015
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi guys,

    Just got my P2 drone today. Put my hero 4 on in (wifi off, no fpv system) and tried to do the compass calibration but I'm not sure whether it's being calibrated or not. I operate the S1 switch until i get solid yellow led, while drone is on the ground outdoors. I lift it up and rotate it until the led turns to green, then I rotate it again with the nose down and I get slow blinking yellow. I tried to switch the motors on and it did indeed fly. My concern is that I've read that the lights shouldn't be yellow. I saw a video on YouTube of a guy calibrating a used vision plus and he got the blinking yellow lights and said the calibration is done. The P2 is straight out of the box. Any thoughts? I even tried leaving it on the ground to get a satellite signal and eventually the lights went from yellow to green but after a short while they were green - red - green. Please advise! Thank you in advance!
     
  2. jason

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014
    Messages:
    4,104
    Likes Received:
    404
    Location:
    Commerce Twp,MI
    Have you a PC or Mac computer? Which ever you have you need to download the software for both the P2 and the RC controller and if you are using a PC then also download the windows driver. Here's the link:
    Phantom 2 - Downloads - Manuals, Software, Drivers download | DJI

    Let me know when your finished downloading..
     
    #2 jason, Nov 8, 2015
    Last edited: Nov 8, 2015
  3. Prydabg

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2015
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've got them downloaded already. No errors there but there's no GPS mode. Just normal fly and fail safe. Haven't crashed it. Literally took it out of the box today..
     
  4. jason

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014
    Messages:
    4,104
    Likes Received:
    404
    Location:
    Commerce Twp,MI

    Which computer are you using??


    If you use the the reply button down in the right corner when you reply you'll notice red number next to the flag indicating I have replied. That way I'll see that someone has sent a message.
     
  5. Prydabg

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2015
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    PC, sorry...
     
  6. jason

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014
    Messages:
    4,104
    Likes Received:
    404
    Location:
    Commerce Twp,MI
    Do not take for granted that it is ready to fly right out of the box. Have you downloaded the windows driver into the P2? That needs to be done before the P2 can communicate with the assistant software.
     
  7. Prydabg

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2015
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm trying not to. Just super excited that I finally got one and can't wait to learn how to work it. :)

    Yes, I installed the driver first, then the assistant.
     
  8. jason

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014
    Messages:
    4,104
    Likes Received:
    404
    Location:
    Commerce Twp,MI
    Do you live the US because i"ll give a number to call which much faster then typing back and forth.
     
  9. Prydabg

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2015
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    I live in the UK.
     
  10. jason

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014
    Messages:
    4,104
    Likes Received:
    404
    Location:
    Commerce Twp,MI
    Ok. have you connected the P2 and setup S1 switch for failsafe or any of the calibrations? By the way if you have done compass calibration correctly you should get a quick flashing green LED and when it gets 6 or more satellites then the green LED's will flash slowly.
     
  11. Prydabg

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2015
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don't think I have.

    After the first calibration I get green LED. When I do the second one, with the nose down and the LED up, the green LED turns to slow blinking yellow. I did it in my back yard however. English weather being what it is, it was cloudy and windy. Could that cause it?
     
  12. jason

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014
    Messages:
    4,104
    Likes Received:
    404
    Location:
    Commerce Twp,MI
    Was this a new P2 or used?
     
  13. Prydabg

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2015
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Brand new
     
  14. jason

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014
    Messages:
    4,104
    Likes Received:
    404
    Location:
    Commerce Twp,MI
    Are you sure switch S1 was at the top while you calibrating the compass?? Why not go out and try it again and see if you'll get a fast flashing green then slow when gets 6 or more sats.
     
  15. Prydabg

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2015
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes, I'm absolutely sure. I watched lots of videos and read a lot online before posting. I've been trying all day really, same result every time. And the weather's taking a turn for the worst.. Gonna try again tomorrow or the day after when I get some spare time. If it still doesn't work, I'll contact DJI. Thanks for all of your help mate
     
  16. jason

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014
    Messages:
    4,104
    Likes Received:
    404
    Location:
    Commerce Twp,MI
    Weather has nothing to do with with calibrating a compass and good results. Do this in the house with the props removed and see if you start the motors. If they startup the GPS cable is connected and there is no reason why you shouldn't get 6 or more sats and home lock for take off. If in the mean time you have poor weather tomorrow why not go through the stick and X1 in both the RC and P2 assistant software and also do an advanced IMU cal.
     
  17. Prydabg

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2015
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    I did the advance IMU cal already. What do you mean by "go through the stick and X1? I tried calibration indoors without the props but didn't try starting the motors. I'll do that as soon as I get home on Tuesday (will be traveling tomorrow).
     
  18. jason

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014
    Messages:
    4,104
    Likes Received:
    404
    Location:
    Commerce Twp,MI
    You cannot calibrate the compass indoors if that is what meant. Just open the RC assistant software icon on your PC and look at it. There is a cal button for all the sticks and X1 which is tilt wheel on the side of the RC unit. You also have calibrate sticks and X1 in the P2 assistant software with RC unit turned on.
     
  19. Prydabg

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2015
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0

    Right. I'll definitely do that and I'll let you know how it's worked out. Thanks!
     
  20. electropappy

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2015
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    2
    When you calibrate with the nose down go in a counterclockwise rotation, that should work for you.