Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Phantom 1 gone?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Monte55, Dec 15, 2014.

  1. Monte55

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2014
    Messages:
    2,198
    Likes Received:
    517
    Location:
    Raymore Missouri
    I checked in yesterday with BH photo on current pricing for Phantom 1. They said they were out and more coming and to check box to be notified when back in stock. Got email today saying "no longer available" well that sucks. I would step up to a better Phantom but with all the troubles with new batteries people are having....let alone the quads, ribbon cables, cameras and gimbals..not sure what to do. I have a Phantom 1 still flying....is it my last Phantom???
     
  2. QYV

    QYV

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Messages:
    1,814
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    NYC
    gotta remember that this is the kind of place people come to complain or ask help with issues, honestly I think most Phantom 2's are fine. The "flyaway" issue is basically gone, I haven't seen a legit flyaway thread since firmware version 3. I have seen some battery complaints but I don't fully understand that issue, I have no problem with mine but I have official batteries... my point being I think that issue still falls into the "exception" category, not "standard / everyone is having it".

    If you're going to be buying NEW equipment, splurge the extra $100 and get the Version 2.0 Phantom2 they look really sweet and have the new RC with the wheel to control the gimbal. I kind of really want one of those. Plus from what I understand the flight time on a P2 is almost double a P1?

    If you get the P2 with H3-3D gimbal, it's super easy to add FPV, and it's not hard to NOT **** up the little USB ribbon cable as long as you're careful and don't crash. If you crash hard it doesn't matter what Phantom you have you're going to damage gimbals and cables :)

    that being said if you really really want a Phantom 1 you can usually find them on Ebay for fairly cheap
     
  3. Monte55

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2014
    Messages:
    2,198
    Likes Received:
    517
    Location:
    Raymore Missouri
    I don't need a Phantom 1 but I don't want headaches either. I guess the Phantom 2 is maybe the way to go next. What's the diff ver 1 to ver 2. I already have Fatshark fpv on 5.8 .
     
  4. darwin-t

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2014
    Messages:
    513
    Likes Received:
    5
    You should still be able to get FC40s. They use 5.8 Ghz instead of 2.4 Ghz, though.
     
  5. Palcuz

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2014
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    So far phantom 2 has been great.
     
  6. syotr

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2013
    Messages:
    896
    Likes Received:
    134
    Amazon still has the Phantom 1
    http://www.amazon.com/DJI-Phantom-Aeria ... ds=phantom
     
  7. 750r

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2013
    Messages:
    1,226
    Likes Received:
    420
    Location:
    Pa, USA
    version 2 = upgraded firmware on ESC's , better motors , better controller .
     
  8. Monte55

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2014
    Messages:
    2,198
    Likes Received:
    517
    Location:
    Raymore Missouri
    Thanks for the replies guys. Things I have learned. Amazon sells the Phantom 1 but doesn't state what version. I don't like that. Even BH PHOTO doesn't always state. Like the Phantom 2. I guess if it's not stated version 2, it's the earlier one. What would I gain by getting the Phantom 2 ver 2 over the standard Phantom 2. I know the tx is different with thumb wheel, lipo tx battery which is no big deal to me since I doubt I'll ever get a high priced gimble. I see so many having problems and breaking these things left and right. So to step up from my Phantom 1.1.1 to a Phantom 2 ver 2 is over $200 more to have a simple quad that uses expensive batteries. Is there something I am missing here. ?
     
  9. Monte55

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2014
    Messages:
    2,198
    Likes Received:
    517
    Location:
    Raymore Missouri
    I wouldn't consider my Phantom 1 a piece of crap. It flies fine. Flying wise, what makes a Phantom 2 better than Phantom 1 other than bigger battery
     
  10. Paul K

    Joined:
    May 23, 2013
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have P1 and P2 and I have to say ,the P2 is more stable platform
     
  11. 750r

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2013
    Messages:
    1,226
    Likes Received:
    420
    Location:
    Pa, USA
    +1
     
  12. Monte55

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2014
    Messages:
    2,198
    Likes Received:
    517
    Location:
    Raymore Missouri
    What makes it more stable?. Larger props.? Are all 5200 ma batteries considered smart batteries? Do they all accept firmware ugrades. Longer flight would be nice. My P1 1.1.1 is quite stable and on a calm day I can get nice gopro video. Never have had jello and I don't have the anti vibe mount. Just the plastic mount that came with it. I'll admit a gimble would be nice at times to make up for quad tilting.
     
  13. Monte55

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2014
    Messages:
    2,198
    Likes Received:
    517
    Location:
    Raymore Missouri
  14. Meta4

    Meta4 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7,731
    Likes Received:
    3,450
    The P1 is an early evolutionary step on the way to developing the P2 series.
    The P2s are so far ahead of the original Phantom in so many ways that it was completely superseded the day the P2 came out.
     
  15. Monte55

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2014
    Messages:
    2,198
    Likes Received:
    517
    Location:
    Raymore Missouri
    I don't seem to be getting an answer to this question. I understand the early P1 may have had problems. I have the Phanton 1 ver 1.1.1 that uses the same naza as the P2. What makes the P2 more stable?