Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Phantom 1 Gimbal Pitch Twitch

Discussion in 'Phantom 1 Discussion' started by adziebart, Apr 10, 2015.

  1. adziebart

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Phantom 1...The model prior to the self tightening Props

    Added a BGC Gimbal. I added Pitch Control to this setup.

    On the Phantom Side:
    Plugged into the 7th channel of the NAZA, into into the Pitch connector on the BGC Gimbal.

    On the Controller Side:
    Removed the trim pot off the board, and wired in a 10K Potentiometer.

    Within the NAZA-M V2 Assistant Software:

    In the Advanced Button/Gimbal tab enabled the Gimbal Switch radial
    In the Basic Button/RC tab performed the X1 Calibration

    The Gimbal twitches on pitch.

    When I go into the NAZA-M V2 Assistant Software Basic/RC tab and view the X1 channel under "Sticks Monitor". The indicator itself is twitching on the scale which is matching up to the behavior of the Gimbal Pitch.

    My question is how to understand where this information is coming from.

    You start with the Controller. The Potentiometer to the Controller. Sends through RC into the Receiver on the Phantom. Goes into the NAZA. Than on to the Gimbal Controller.

    Is this a fair flow?
     
    #1 adziebart, Apr 10, 2015
    Last edited: Apr 10, 2015
  2. IflyinWY

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2014
    Messages:
    3,470
    Likes Received:
    939
    Location:
    Where the deer and the antelope play
    Would you provide a link to your gimbal.

    My cheap Chinese gimbal twitches sometimes when the wires get caught where they shouldn't be.
     
  3. lake_flyer

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2014
    Messages:
    603
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    The Low Lands
    Yours does as well?
    My video cables are a bit stiff and need to be routed so the gimbal doesn't touch it or has to push it.

    typos...edited
     
  4. Tito

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2015
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Run the gimbal GUI and set power from 50 to 120 / 140. This wil more than double the power to the motors and prevents it from twitching. I have a action cam and a cctv FPV cam UNDER the action cam and even with 5 wires to the cam + the compas I can get the camera to look straight down without twitching.
     
    IflyinWY likes this.
  5. IflyinWY

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2014
    Messages:
    3,470
    Likes Received:
    939
    Location:
    Where the deer and the antelope play
    Shesh, why didn't I think of that. :eek:


    Yep Lake Flyer, anything touching which shouldn't be, sets it off like a nervous wet cat.