Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Phantom 1.1.1 ver 4.00 vrs 4.02

Discussion in 'Phantom 1 Discussion' started by Monte55, Jul 17, 2014.

  1. Monte55

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2014
    Messages:
    2,196
    Likes Received:
    517
    Location:
    Raymore Missouri
    I have the above quad and it's still on ver 4.00. What is the 4.02 supposed to do to improve things. Mine has no problems at all so why should I upgrade? I see some have problems after upgrade and even other Phantom models too.
     
  2. ElGuano

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2013
    Messages:
    2,219
    Likes Received:
    4
    4.0 has a very bad bug with the horizontal distance limit that you can set in Assistant. I'd recommend you upgrade to 4.02 using the version 2.20 Assistant.
     
  3. Monte55

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2014
    Messages:
    2,196
    Likes Received:
    517
    Location:
    Raymore Missouri
    Can you describe the bug problem?
     
  4. ElGuano

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2013
    Messages:
    2,219
    Likes Received:
    4
    If you reach the edge of the ring fence, you lose aileron and elevator. You can yaw and throttle up and down, but it is stuck in space. Switching to ATTI/man doesn't help, CL/HL don't work, failsafe doesn't work. If you're over water or a tree, you decide whether you want to go up and down until your batteries run out and you lose the option of going up. If you run 4.0, it's recommended you stick the horizontal limit out to 10000m so you will never hit it (I'm actually still on 4.0 on one of my quads).
     
  5. Monte55

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2014
    Messages:
    2,196
    Likes Received:
    517
    Location:
    Raymore Missouri
    When it hits the fence, does it keep gps position in space or will it drift? Is that the only change in 4.02? Thanks for the info.
     
  6. Jebus

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2013
    Messages:
    296
    Likes Received:
    0
    I assume with 4.02 you can still control it fully to bring it back within the set limit - right? It just won't let you go any further - like hitting a virtual wall?
     
  7. ElGuano

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2013
    Messages:
    2,219
    Likes Received:
    4
    I believe in GPS it holds position, in ATTI it drifts but you still don't have elevator/aileron. There are a few videos online demonstrating how it's broken.
     
  8. ElGuano

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2013
    Messages:
    2,219
    Likes Received:
    4
    That's right. 4.02 fixes it, and makes it work as you'd expect it to (better than it was originally intended to work in 4.0).
     
  9. Jebus

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2013
    Messages:
    296
    Likes Received:
    0
    Right on. Thanks for confirming that.