Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Professional P3P maximum height?

Discussion in 'Phantom 3 Help' started by LUISMARTINEZ, Jul 7, 2015.

  1. LUISMARTINEZ

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2015
    Messages:
    759
    Likes Received:
    272
    My P3P arrives today. Reading the specks in the manual the maximum height is listed as 6000m. Is this a typo?
     
  2. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,782
    Likes Received:
    5,529
    Location:
    US
    That's the max suggested altitude above sea level. DJI does not suggest flying higher than that.
     
  3. LUISMARTINEZ

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2015
    Messages:
    759
    Likes Received:
    272
    Thanks. I didn't think it was possible...
     
  4. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,782
    Likes Received:
    5,529
    Location:
    US
    The DJI Pilot application does restrict you from flying higher than 500m above the takeoff point.
     
    ThommyBoy likes this.
  5. LUISMARTINEZ

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2015
    Messages:
    759
    Likes Received:
    272
    Please understand my questions are pure curiosity, guys. I plan to keep my new phantom in VLOS at ALL TIMES. Can a P3P reach 6000m in a single flight if the pilot app would allow it? technically speaking.
     
  6. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,782
    Likes Received:
    5,529
    Location:
    US
    Technically speaking, it can reach as far as the battery and radio will reach. You could always mod your Phantom to attach more batteries and/or increase the radio reception with better antennas.

    Out of the box, no, it's impossible. I doubt DJI will ever allow a Phantom to fly over 500m high.
     
    ThommyBoy likes this.
  7. LUISMARTINEZ

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2015
    Messages:
    759
    Likes Received:
    272
    Thanks, interesting...
     
  8. N017RW

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Messages:
    6,236
    Likes Received:
    1,606
    Location:
    Palm Beach Co.- FL
    It's not about battery capacity or control duration but air density.
    What if you're already at altitude???

    There's video of a Phantom flying at Mt. Everest base camp (+17,000 ft.)
     
    #8 N017RW, Jul 7, 2015
    Last edited: Jul 7, 2015
    SnoozeDoggyDog likes this.
  9. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,782
    Likes Received:
    5,529
    Location:
    US
    People do lots of things that aren't suggested by DJI :)
     
  10. macsoft

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2015
    Messages:
    418
    Likes Received:
    73
    You don't even need radio reach. You can use some alternate apps to set it to fly a mission out of radio reach, and go that high... Just be prepared for it to run out of battery before it comes back and you loose it for good.
     
    ThommyBoy likes this.
  11. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,782
    Likes Received:
    5,529
    Location:
    US
    Good point. I wonder if the DJI API will restrict the altitude too.
     
  12. macsoft

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2015
    Messages:
    418
    Likes Received:
    73
    It does. That is why I mentioned Alternate Apps :)
     
  13. snowghost

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2015
    Messages:
    1,056
    Likes Received:
    212
    Location:
    SoCal, USA
    Or even LOSE it for good.
     
  14. macsoft

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2015
    Messages:
    418
    Likes Received:
    73
    Sorry, not all of us are from English speaking countries.
     
  15. Serpent

    Joined:
    May 20, 2014
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    12
    Previously I could set the maximum height to 0 in the iOS app but since updating recently it's limited to 500m (even if I set 0). It's a shame as I got some great shots at high altitude on the P2V. Hope DJI will re-consider this limit.
     
  16. Cica

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2015
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    6
    As you ascend, the air gets thinner, giving the props less to bite into. An airplane has the added problem of generating less hp as it ascends. I'm not sure of how much of a performance hit the P3 will take, but even if it had unlimited power, there would be a point where it would stop ascending. In the case of a quad, you need reserve power to bring it back down. (Well, not really, but the landing would be a lot smoother)
     
  17. duse500

    Joined:
    May 18, 2014
    Messages:
    221
    Likes Received:
    30
    [QUOTE=" (Well, not really, but the landing would be a lot smoother)[/QUOTE]
    lol
     
  18. spankybear

    Joined:
    May 24, 2015
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    86
    Location:
    Washington
    6000m is 19,685' Base camp is under that... 5200m
     
  19. N017RW

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Messages:
    6,236
    Likes Received:
    1,606
    Location:
    Palm Beach Co.- FL
    I'm no Edmund Hillary.

    Could there be more than one 'base camp'?
    I've never been there.

    This is the video I viewed:


    If you know better please share.
     
  20. Serpent

    Joined:
    May 20, 2014
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    12
    Great landing at 4m45s!!!