Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

P3: Flying near strong WIFI interference

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by IceFireSoul, Jun 26, 2015.

  1. IceFireSoul

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2013
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    5
    Doing so and seemingly randomly (sometimes it works perfectly even near many office buildings); but sometimes not - the downlink becomes garbled, disappears, or parts of it are seen as in broken encoding in a DivX file. Have you experienced it? Any ideas on improving such sitautions?
     
  2. jlo

    jlo

    Joined:
    May 17, 2015
    Messages:
    479
    Likes Received:
    213
    Location:
    FL
    It's a problem here in the urban sprawl. The only thing you can do is get away from it. I can get about 1600-2000ft in my neighborhood before the downlink starts to get choppy.
     
  3. happydays

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2013
    Messages:
    1,858
    Likes Received:
    663
    Location:
    Warrenpoint, Ireland
    Maybe changing the Image Transmission Settings channel would help?
     
  4. Chris Vedeler

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2015
    Messages:
    310
    Likes Received:
    196
    Location:
    Scottsdale, Arizona USA
    I get no more than about 1200 feet before the same thing happens in my neighborhood. Wifi is everywhere there are businesses and homes.
     
  5. BenDronePilot

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2013
    Messages:
    1,204
    Likes Received:
    131
    Mod controller and use WiFi amps to boost power. Problem solved. Modding the controller to use external antennas is not a simple process tho but you can have others do it for you.
     
  6. Kman

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2014
    Messages:
    937
    Likes Received:
    435
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    Are you flying in direct sunlight? Chances are your Android or Apple device is over heating.
     
  7. IceFireSoul

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2013
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    5
    I think it's the WIFI that's everywhere, especially some more powerful transmitters mounted in office buildings... Makes me think that for some applications; the older phantom with video downlink to a monitor is better - less delay; and bad signal does not result in decomposition of the image, but only more noise in the video; while you can still control in real time.
     
  8. robinb

    Joined:
    May 10, 2014
    Messages:
    2,907
    Likes Received:
    503
    Location:
    A place in the sun
    In the latest apple app you can't do that anymore. (option there but does nothing)
     
  9. BenDronePilot

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2013
    Messages:
    1,204
    Likes Received:
    131
    The Phantom 2 (non Vision) still used a 2.4ghz RC signal so even if you could still see an analog FPV signal your control signal could still be affected. You could actually add a 5.8ghz FPV connection to a Phantom 3 if you wanted to. It's being done to the inspire. Only downside is a little added weight by the 5.8ghz video transmitter, camera and battery to power it all. That and you'll need a second monitor and or goggles to see that transmission.
     
  10. ianwood

    ianwood Taco Wrangler
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Messages:
    4,932
    Likes Received:
    1,811
    Location:
    Lost Angeles
    Lightbridge requires a lot of bandwidth. Macro blocking is not uncommon in a urban landscape. You should first verify your setup is good. Take it to someplace where there is no WiFi noise and make sure the tablet is set up properly. Then when you're back in town and you see break ups, you'll know its interference and not some other issue.
     
    Sammynels likes this.
  11. davemex

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2015
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    85
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    I have only ever been able to get about 3000' shooting out of my house-dense neighborhood. Once I got away from all the wifi routers and headed to the beach I was getting around 2 miles! It makes a lot of difference.
     
    Mati likes this.
  12. Atom1234

    Joined:
    May 6, 2015
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    5
  13. IceFireSoul

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2013
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    5
    Why did they disable the custom video transmission setting? It was the difference between not being able to work and being able to sometimes.