Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

O'Shaughnessy Dam

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Vision + Discussion' started by tlastrange, Apr 27, 2014.

  1. tlastrange

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2014
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    1
    A few minutes over this (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/O'Shaughnessy_Dam_(Ohio).

    https://vimeo.com/93088166

    Everything was going great until I unexpectedly lost FPV. I couldn't see it because I was looking right into the morning sun. I couldn't hear it because of the water. I turned off the transmitter... I didn't see or hear it until it was about 100 ft directly over my head. This video is what the Return To Home looked like. Four seconds in is obviously when it decided to return :)

    https://vimeo.com/93090603
     
  2. beachvision

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2013
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    love the footage , wish you could have gone all the way across but respect the risks u took!
     
  3. Hovtech

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2014
    Messages:
    502
    Likes Received:
    151
    Well done!
     
  4. HarleyRed

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2014
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Weather was great today in central Ohio for flying....but my P2V+ isn't coming until tomorrow....just in time for the crappy weather for the rest of the week.
    Are you using the Vision app version 1.0.40 ? Lots of discussion here about going back to 1.0.39 until they get the problems fixed.
     
  5. plasmo

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2014
    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    0
    Great footage!
    My next flight, i'm going to for sure test out my RTH function and make sure it is working properly...
    I can imagine what was going through your head when you lost control...
     
  6. tlastrange

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2014
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    1
    HarleyRed, I assume I'm running 1.0.37 since that seems to be the latest for iOS and I have auto updates turned on...
     
  7. HarleyRed

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2014
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don't know about the IOS app. There are apparently problems with the Android app version 1.0.40 that sound like the same problem you had. The solution so far for the android app is to downgrade back to 1.0.39 or 1.0.38 until they get the latest version fixed.
    I just got mine today and it won't even power up :|

    Edit:
    Thanks to some help here.....I am powered up and ready to invade Canal Winchester....... ;)