Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

!Notice For New Phantom 3 Professional/Advanced Motors!

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by nickyb, Sep 30, 2015.

  1. nickyb

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2015
    Messages:
    391
    Likes Received:
    97
    Location:
    Northern Hemisphere
    #1 nickyb, Sep 30, 2015
    Last edited: Sep 30, 2015
  2. PilotHarry

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2015
    Messages:
    283
    Likes Received:
    85
    I have these! :)
     
  3. Prometric

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2015
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    31
    The new motors are not compatible with the old motors main board. If you want to change the motors on an older p3 you need to change the main board also to match. The esc's are different.
     
  4. nickyb

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2015
    Messages:
    391
    Likes Received:
    97
    Location:
    Northern Hemisphere
    Would the 'new' esc's be more powerful? Or more intelligent?
     
  5. RoyVa

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2015
    Messages:
    2,246
    Likes Received:
    449
    Location:
    Virginia
    Yep, so much for standardization and interchangeability.
     
  6. nickyb

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2015
    Messages:
    391
    Likes Received:
    97
    Location:
    Northern Hemisphere
    Looking at the new flat design on the motors, maybe this will reduce any of the crack issues people have, maybe better heat dissipation will help too?
     
  7. D4T_PoM

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2015
    Messages:
    693
    Likes Received:
    183
    Location:
    London UK
    Just looked at the article.

    Motor looks better but better don't mean it better.

    Maybe because of the old 2312 design we get cracks in shell, knowing DJI we will never know.

    What I don't understand is why it is not interchangable and the need of a new board.

    Don't know if it has been rolled out on newer models, have not personally seen a new motor P3 personally as of yet.

    It's pretty vague as don't know who has a new batch, when you speak to UK suppliers they all seem to have the latest batch but then turns out its false.

    I would love to have one of the P3's with the newer motors, I had my P3A exchanged for a P3P, upon openning the the box I did realise I had a Panasonic SD card and not the usual Lexar so it must of been a later batch but not the batch with the newer motor.
     
  8. TCW

    TCW

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2015
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    Dallas/Ft.Worth
    I just received a new P3A last week (to add to the fleet !) and I noticed immediately it was equipped with the new style motors. Came from Drones Ect..Just FYI

    PS N.Texas area, USofA
     
    #8 TCW, Sep 30, 2015
    Last edited: Sep 30, 2015
    D4T_PoM likes this.
  9. nickyb

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2015
    Messages:
    391
    Likes Received:
    97
    Location:
    Northern Hemisphere
    Good to hear. I'm in the UK and awaiting Heliguy (DJI Distrib) to let me know when they get the new stock in with the new motors.
     
  10. Albert D

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2015
    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    Winter Springs, Florida
    Just before Thanksgiving, I saw stacks of new P3P boxes at Best Buy in Altamonte Springs, FL. Only one box showed the old design motors. All of the rest showed the new design motors. (My old design P3P is doing fine, so I was not in the market for another one.)
     
  11. TC Malker

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2015
    Messages:
    297
    Likes Received:
    85
    There's absolutely no difference between the new and old motors.
     
  12. Wingfan04

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2015
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    16
    Oh there is a difference but nothing to write home about. People like to get all excited thinking its a MAJOR thing. WOW. Best thing since sliced bread. When indeed they are most likely to reduce production costs and ultimately are a cheaper version of the original.
     
  13. bobmyers

    Joined:
    May 10, 2015
    Messages:
    3,611
    Likes Received:
    866
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
     
  14. peter west nz

    Joined:
    May 9, 2015
    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    28
    I have just got a new p3a[ to keep the other one company] and it has the new motors and the clamp for tightening the props [ I only ever do it by hand anyway]. However, the clamp is just right for taking off the uv lens - If it is stubborn, slide it around the lens & warm the metal outside up a bit, leave it a couple of minutes, Then it will come off by hand! I don't notice any difference in performance. I wouldn't expect to.