Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Not using the GoPro battery

Discussion in 'Zenmuse H3-2D GoPro Gimbal' started by Eos630, Jan 31, 2014.

  1. Eos630

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2014
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    1
    I removed the battery from my GoPro and just used the power from the Zenmuse to run my camera. Anybody know of any complications from doing this?
     
  2. saltire

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2014
    Messages:
    241
    Likes Received:
    6
    I would tend to go the other way and use the go pro battery and disconnect the power from the gimbal .
     
  3. havasuphoto

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2013
    Messages:
    1,284
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Lake Havasu, AZ
    As long as the gimbal still balances and doesn't struggle, you shouldn't have any issues. However, the 1 time you disconnect the main battery before stopping the video-you'll regret it. Because the GP may not save the last file it was writing, and you'll lose that footage.
    The battery draw from the GP is negligible...I'd leave it in, as that's the way the Zen was designed and balanced for.
     
  4. Eos630

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2014
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thanks for those tips. I went and experimented with it today and, over the span of an afternoon, I literally had all the issues you described. The gimbal lost balance once, I lost video on power down, and I also lost GoPro power when the Phantom battery got very low.

    Got it - keep the GoPro battery in.
     
  5. havasuphoto

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2013
    Messages:
    1,284
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Lake Havasu, AZ
    Glad I could help. You don't want to "waste" a good flight-and lose the video :)