Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Noob needing to know.... Pause button?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Leojay, Mar 11, 2016.

  1. Leojay

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2016
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    1
    How is hitting pause on the Phantom 4 going to have a different effect than releasing the sticks, I know nothing, just needing to make an educated decision before purchase. Torn between P3P and P4
     
  2. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,832
    Likes Received:
    5,546
    Location:
    US
    The pause button is used to pause your Phantom when it's automatically flying via the new autonomous flight modes.
     
  3. Chris Grossmeier

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2016
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    You could still have Wind drift if you release the sticks without pausing or using any position tracking. My guess is the Phantom 4 will maintain position and altitude via GPS while paused. In other words, it will stay right where you pause it vs potentially drifting away.
     
  4. Leojay

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2016
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    1
    But when you release the sticks in GPS mode doesn't it hover in place without having to pause? Sorry, please forgive me if I'm not understanding. Not having any experience I'm clueless.
    $1400 is quite a leap from the $800 on the P3a I was prepared to spend. I just want to do it right the first time
     
  5. jonebk12

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2016
    Messages:
    272
    Likes Received:
    96
    A P3 will hover in place and will not drift with the wind when you let go of the sticks, as long as you're in GPS mode. I believe the P4 operates the same say.
     
    bradbrok likes this.
  6. Meta4

    Meta4 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7,712
    Likes Received:
    3,434
    The pause button is for automated flight ... like a waypoint mission or Point of Interest shooting.
    On a P3, once you start the mission you can only let it continue or stop completely.
    With the P4 you will also be able to pause and resume.
     
  7. Chris Grossmeier

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2016
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    This is what is in the draft Phantom 4 manual...
    http://www.phantompilots.com/attachments/phantom-4-user-manual-pdf.46671/

    Intelligent Flight Pause Button
    Press once to allow the aircraft to exit from TapFly, ActiveTrack and Advanced mode. Aircraft will hover and resume to Normal mode.

    It basically pulls it out of the other modes and drops it to Normal and holds position.