Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

No satellites

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Vision Discussion' started by MonsieurAnon, Nov 28, 2013.

  1. MonsieurAnon

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2013
    Messages:
    353
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    After my recent fly away, which I posted a description of in the flyaway thread, I managed to recover my Phantom Vision. I've re-assembled it, updated the controller firmware and am testing / observing to see if there is anything further that needs doing to get it flying.

    So far, I've been able to confirm that everything except compass calibration works. The Phantom Vision app is telling me that there are 0 satellites in range (strange for a big city) and the slow flashing yellow doesn't change to solid yellow when flipping the S1 switch repeatedly.

    Does anyone have any ideas as to what might be wrong?

    I've only done the calibration successfully in a big open field so far, but as its raining I did it under my verandah, with maybe 150 x 120 degrees of sky in line of sight to the drone.
     
  2. iDrone

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2013
    Messages:
    612
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California USA
    Precipitation tends to adversely affect GPS satellite reception and if you've got a limited window of the sky to boot, then I wouldn't be too surprised - esp if the SAT receiver needs to cold-start and relearn the sky from scratch. Wait for the rain & clouds to clear and I'm sure you'll be fine.

    iDrone
     
  3. MonsieurAnon

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2013
    Messages:
    353
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    Tried again at night, with thick dark cloud cover, but no rain, with maybe double the amount of sky visible. Still no satellites. Was amongst obstacles (domestic power lines, fences, trees) so I only took it up for a hop to confirm stability. No problem there!

    Going to a small festival in the countryside over the weekend, so I'll try my luck there!

    It is possible, I guess, that either the S1 switch or GPS reciever has become disconnected. I partially disassembled the TX & PV while waiting for the battery to come down.
     
  4. whitewatersalvo

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2013
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Anyone know why they didn't just put a better antenna in it? My Garmin 62s gets 8+ satellites even in stormy weather, as long as your outside its good.
     
  5. MonsieurAnon

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2013
    Messages:
    353
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    Took my P2V out to another park with 30% cloud cover and perhaps 10% hill & tree cover. Got 6 satellites quickly, marked return to home location and was able to fly with reasonably good stability in <2ms winds.

    Very glad that nothing is broken.
     
  6. iDrone

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2013
    Messages:
    612
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California USA
    Glad your PV is OK.

    iDrone