Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

newest firmware update "bug ridden"?

Discussion in 'Firmware' started by frozenhawaiian, Jun 21, 2015.

  1. frozenhawaiian

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    2
    anybody experiencing issues with the newest firmware update v1.2.6? the DJI forum seems to be full of people having temper tantrums over the newest update causing issues, I just can't help but think that the DJI forum is full of the people that have had issues, the proverbial "vocal minority" while there's a silent majority out flying with the new firmware without issue. any of you guys had any problems? I did the update today and all seems to be well.
     
  2. snerd

    Joined:
    May 5, 2015
    Messages:
    2,633
    Likes Received:
    1,585
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    There are a great many here who have the problems relating to the latest firmware update. It does seem to be a bug in the firmware, causing problems with the VPS system.
     
  3. WalkaboutSean

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2014
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    28
    Let's just say... I'll be sitting this one out. ;)
     
  4. frozenhawaiian

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    2
    gotcha, I guess I got lucky as mine seems to be working properly, I've heard some are also have lag issues with the lightbridge video downlink. I'm curious to see how quickly DJI rectifies the issue. the P3 has been out less than 2 months, I can't imagine DJI wants their newest model getting a bad rap for reliability.
     
    AbsPapa and snerd like this.
  5. herby

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2015
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    16
    No issues here.


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
     
    JBG and snerd like this.
  6. Kman

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2014
    Messages:
    936
    Likes Received:
    434
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    No issues here either (don't want to jinx it).
     
    snerd likes this.
  7. Jeffin916

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2014
    Messages:
    251
    Likes Received:
    86
    Location:
    Roseville, CA
    No issues with mine at all. I cant fly above 500 ft anymore though, used to be able to
     
  8. Phantom 3 Pilot

    Joined:
    May 8, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    3
    I flew mine today after updating. No issues.
     
    snerd likes this.
  9. SitkaGrover

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2015
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    Alaska
    Did you go back and check all your settings? Mine, including Altitude restrictions reverted back and I had to adjust them all again.
     
    snerd likes this.
  10. Videolester

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2014
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    7
    No issues with mine .... half dozen flights post FW update .. all AOK.
     
    snerd likes this.
  11. RedHotPoker

    Joined:
    May 3, 2015
    Messages:
    3,972
    Likes Received:
    1,365
    Location:
    Edmonton Alberta
    No faults or failures here either, after any and all the firmware updates we've had recently. Seems like some of us are either lucky, or just have a great Phantom, out of the box. I checked mine very thoroughly the first day, out of the wrapper, and was pleased to find it was clean, without a blemish. And has flown flawlessly from day one. Without a hitch or hick up.
    If I only had even a very few more batteries, it would get a much more thorough testing... ;-)

    RedHotPoker
     
    snerd likes this.
  12. nhoover

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2013
    Messages:
    851
    Likes Received:
    182
    Location:
    Los Gatos, California
    Did you mean 500 meters? I haven't upgraded yet and never will if there is a 500 foot hard limit.
     
  13. Dome

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2015
    Messages:
    484
    Likes Received:
    97
    Location:
    Italy
    I have three birds P3P and P3A and no issue flying them, but on all three I see less stability at low altitude (VPS). When I go higher, above 3mt, no problem at all.
    I have the impression that 4K video on P3P is little bit worse than before, and file size is little less now. They changed compression parameters ?
     
  14. Meta4

    Meta4 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7,763
    Likes Received:
    3,470
    Well you don't need to worry about that - there is no 500 ft hard limit.
    You would have heard about it if there was.
     
  15. Sheets7777

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2015
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Eure, NC
    No problem here, did go back and review settings in app. I have done that each time and will continue, I think that it's as important as any other pre flight check.
     
  16. Albert R.

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2015
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    19
    Hello folks. I'm new to the quad arena but have been into RC for over 30 years. I own a Phantom 3 Pro and found this forum because of a failed firmware update to version 1.2.6. I had performed two other updates both without a hitch prior to this one. Aircraft up to this point had been performing flawlessly.
    Here is what happened. Twenty min into the update the drone LED lights turned off and the gimble started to make a machine like semi grinding sound like it was trying to beep. That in itself was odd but the most troubling part was how hot the gimble was getting. After the 35 min mark and against my better judgement, I powered down.
    I let the aircraft cool down and powered it back up only to be greated with no lights but an incredibly load alarm like sound. At that point I was nearly convinced that I had created the perverbial 'boat anchor'. I took the SD card out and noted that the log indicated that, despite the outward inactivity other than the sound, the aircraft was updating itself. I then followed a very precise procedure that others had followed that included formatting the SD card and using the controller to make another attempt. I locked the aircraft we in the vehicle (to dampen the alarm like noise) turned on the air conditioner and sat with the aircraft to see if it would update. To my amazement, after 12 min the lights came back on, the gimble did its dance and the tone indicating that the update had completed was chiming. Power cycled the aircraft several times with no problems. Text file indicated that the update was successful. I allowed the aircraft to completely cool off and then did an IMU, gibmle and compass calibration (in that order).
    I have flown the aircraft about 6 times since without any perceivable problems and its flying just like before with no issues to the VPS.
    I shared the with DJI and was shocked how...unamused they were.
    Hope this helps.
    Regards,
    Albert
     
  17. RedHotPoker

    Joined:
    May 3, 2015
    Messages:
    3,972
    Likes Received:
    1,365
    Location:
    Edmonton Alberta
    That's just like it supposed to be. For the majority here, that was the case.
    Sadly a bunch have experienced a different outcome. Hopefully an eventual fix for those, will be released and all will be at peace once again.

    RedHotPoker
     
  18. bobmyers

    Joined:
    May 10, 2015
    Messages:
    3,611
    Likes Received:
    866
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    Sound like patience and being very precise in performing all the steps-- I think some of the issues with the upgrade may result in inexperience, rushing or lack of knowledge of the upgrade and calibration process. There are some very angry folks here that should read your post. Thank you for sharing, this may be very helpful to those who have had issues.
    Welcome to this forum-- :):)