Newbie Question -

Reaction score
All:

I searched the posts but didn't see an answer to this question. If this has been answered, sorry, point me in the right direction and I'll be on my way.

I am impressed with the DJI Phantom 2 Vision + vidoes I've seen on YouTube. I would like to get one.

However, I have zero experience with RC - never flown, driven, anything. I'm concerned I will crash this thing on the first few flights.

Is there a cheap quadcopter (or simulator) that I could learn on prior to getting a $1300 piece of gear? Or is the Phantom really that easy to fly?

Thanks!

Loads, I learnt with a Hubsan x4 around the house and outside on a no wind day , took me about a week or so to get the hang of hovering it, using roll, yaw etc flying it in circles and the hardest bit is when it changes orientation the right hand controls become opposite, it's actually harder to fly than the Phantom which is easy in comparison as it hovers and you vpcan let go of the control sticks, do that with the Hubsan and it will carry on going.

Anyway I,d recommend it 1st as it teaches you orientation which you still need, otherwise like a lot of others you will hit many trees when you get close as you will panic and push it the wrong way.

The phantom ( is extremely easy to fly ) if you get into trouble just let the sticks go, and the phantom will stop and stabilize itself, until you can get your thoughts together, ( orientation ) then calmly. , continue on!
Also there are several patterns to use, to help you learn to fly.
ON YOUR FIRST FEW FLIGHTS, KEEP CAMERA AND VISION FACING AWAY FROM YOU, this way all controls will be correct ( or correct orientation ) left will be left, right will be right, and so on,

Example:
If you fly the phantom FACING YOU , ( now AWAY FROM YOU. ),
Forward will be backwards, backwards will be forward , left will be right, and right will be left!