New to FPV

Reaction score
Hi all, I am a newbie to this, and wanted to be sure I have the basics of FPV gear I need for my Phantom 2:

I plan on purchasing the following:

Black Pearl monitor (which to choose, 7 or 32 channel?)
Immersion RC 600mw 5.8 Ghz A/V transmitter
Plug & Play connector to attach Immersion RC transmitter to Phantom 2

And I'm a bit confused about antennas. Was looking at either spiroNET or Circular wireless omni-directional antennas. Which do I connect to the transmitter on the Phantom 2, and which do I attach to the Black Pearl??

Am I missing anything to allow me to do basic FPV?

I'm researching the same and have read that the 7 channel BP gets better range than the 32 channel. I'd advise getting your FCC Technician license as well, if you're using the ImmersionRC 600mw in the USA. Just passed the test for mine yesterday, wasn't too difficult. I spent quite a few hours on ARRL's exam practice as well as hamstudy.org.

duceno1 said:
Hi all, I am a newbie to this, and wanted to be sure I have the basics of FPV gear I need for my Phantom 2:

I plan on purchasing the following:

Black Pearl monitor (which to choose, 7 or 32 channel?)
Immersion RC 600mw 5.8 Ghz A/V transmitter
Plug & Play connector to attach Immersion RC transmitter to Phantom 2

And I'm a bit confused about antennas. Was looking at either spiroNET or Circular wireless omni-directional antennas. Which do I connect to the transmitter on the Phantom 2, and which do I attach to the Black Pearl??

Am I missing anything to allow me to do basic FPV?
I would not fly my P2 without my mini iOSD. That will give you important (critical) data on your monitor (height, distance, battery life, direction, etc).

I used an auxiliary hub to connect my mini- there may be another way to do it. I think it is the easiest way.

I have a older single - antenna Black Pearl, and the reception is awful - I've heard the newer ones are better, and am going to get one soon.