Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

New Firmware (DJI GEO) Height Restriction

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by Terabyte, Jan 9, 2016.

  1. Terabyte

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2015
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    4
    I have tried searching but haven't been able to find an answer to this.
    For those testing the new GEO firmware, does it allow you to remove/set a higher than 500m height limit if you unlock/verify with DJI?

    Thank You.
     
  2. snerd

    Joined:
    May 5, 2015
    Messages:
    2,633
    Likes Received:
    1,585
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    I don't think so. That's a hard limit set on the bird.
     
  3. GunnyPapa

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2015
    Messages:
    201
    Likes Received:
    39
    Approximately 120.50M Or approximately 400 ft is the US Law, however, I just noticed a 500M limit on distance
     
  4. snerd

    Joined:
    May 5, 2015
    Messages:
    2,633
    Likes Received:
    1,585
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    That's a "height" limit.
     
  5. Terabyte

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2015
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    4
    NOT US law, a recommendation from the FAA. Anyways that's not the point, the world is bigger than the USA.
     
  6. Mako79

    Joined:
    May 16, 2014
    Messages:
    3,416
    Likes Received:
    568
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    Have you ever tried flying at 500m??
    I don't think any trained or untrained pilots really need to fly above that height...
    If DJI enabled 1km height restrictions, I can foresee many P3's failing to safely land.

    The only exclusions I can really see are those who live on the side of mount Everest.
     
  7. Terabyte

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2015
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    4
    Everest being over 29000 feet and over 7000 other mountains over 23000 feet your statement is just ignorant. The P3A can easily and safely go 1km and back.
     
  8. Mako79

    Joined:
    May 16, 2014
    Messages:
    3,416
    Likes Received:
    568
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    Re: Mt Everest... Lol. I wish I had sarcasm font.
    You know that the P3 has a ceiling of 6000m. This means at 23000ft (7000m), the phantom probably will struggle to take off.

    And there is no such thing as 'safely' go 1km 'up' and back. A lot of users don't even know how to orient their antennas for vertical flight, let alone guestimate the wind gust at those altitudes.
     
  9. ianwood

    ianwood Taco Wrangler
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Messages:
    4,922
    Likes Received:
    1,799
    Location:
    Lost Angeles
    No.
     
  10. Dirby

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2014
    Messages:
    817
    Likes Received:
    128
    Location:
    Dothan Al
    mine will only climb to 394 feet
     
  11. Meta4

    Meta4 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7,743
    Likes Received:
    3,456
    Most likely because you have the configurable limit in the app set to 120 metres.
     
  12. wooglin

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2015
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    29
    The phantom calculates altitude relative to takeoff location so mount Everest is not good example unless you are planning on scaling from the bottom to top with Phantom.
     
  13. Fast13

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2015
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    94
    Thank goodness this forum isn't representative of the worlds population. If it was the world would still be flat and the sun would revolve around the earth. I know we need rules for all the idiots out there but I for one am able to manage my own risks and don't appreciate all the tattle tails telling me over and over again what the rules are. Say it once, fine, then move on. Your not my mother or the police.

    Sorry. My own little rant. ;-)
     
    Ramphex likes this.