Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

P3 Firmware New firmware 1.9.6 for P3P released June 13, 2016

Discussion in 'Firmware' started by Great_Lakes, Jun 13, 2016.

  1. Great_Lakes

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2016
    Messages:
    268
    Likes Received:
    68
    Location:
    South Eastern Michigan
    Has anybody tried this yet? I don't really feel like being the guinea pig.
     
  2. flpholt

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2016
    Messages:
    4,178
    Likes Received:
    1,561
    Location:
    palm harbor florida
    come on try upload_2016-6-13_20-22-52.png it
     
    Hurricane Dave likes this.
  3. Zuzua

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2016
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    107
    Yea I updated it today and took it out for a ride, latest iOS on iPhone 6 plus, app 2.8.3. Had issues with app freezing, choppy video. Never had any issues before. BUT, I think it's the lightning cable I was using, It wasn't the certified one I always use, so tomorrow going to try again. Will let you know
     
  4. Great_Lakes

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2016
    Messages:
    268
    Likes Received:
    68
    Location:
    South Eastern Michigan
    I went ahead and updated to the new version. Took it out for a stretch. No issues at all!
     
  5. Zuzua

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2016
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    107
    Took mine out again today with different lightning cable. all good
     
  6. Jesse B.

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2016
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    2
    downloaded next day after firmware came out. went for a couple of flights, no problem..
     
  7. paulburrows

    Joined:
    May 12, 2016
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Updated yesterday and seems good on a test flight - possibly more stable than before.

    I did notice my battery life % reduced from 100% before the update to between 94% and 98% afterwards - don't know if the way the calculation is done has changed, or whether updating the battery firmware forced a recalculation. Approx 28 charges in on two batteries - and 10 on another.

    Would be interested to hear if others had noticed anything similar or if I am killing my batteries somehow (always very careful, never store full or empty, never recharge when hot.. etc).

    I hadn't done the 8% discharge that DJI recommend at 20 charges so this could be the issue, but one of my batteries had only 10 charges and this one reduced to 98%.
     
  8. Tricky

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2015
    Messages:
    299
    Likes Received:
    88
    Location:
    Westchester County, New York
    You just reminded me that I have never once done the 8% discharge after 20 charges. I have 3 batteries, over 200 flights, and 1,000,000 feet of incident free flying...that hasn't seemed to be an issue for me...but as they say here, your mileage may vary (YMMV)
     
  9. paulburrows

    Joined:
    May 12, 2016
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    71 flights and 142km for me - you're doing well! Maybe I need to fly more, they say the batteries prefer being used to sitting around.
     
  10. Prometric

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2015
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    31
    ImageUploadedByPhantomPilots1466201639.036712.jpg
    so my RC only show 1.6.0 is this correct ?
     
  11. arnie-lee

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2016
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    My remote shows this also.
    I thought that when you updated the aircraft you also had to update the controller.
    Hence the number should be the same on the controller....1.9.6
     
  12. Multicoptertec

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2016
    Messages:
    1,103
    Likes Received:
    313
    Location:
    Apollo Beach, Florida
    No, the app is a different version number. I just updated my P3A, and instead of 1.9.6, it shows 1.8 with a + after the version. ??
     
  13. kinsey

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2016
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    Carlisle, Cumbria, UK.
    It's not that long since I did all this so I have to go thru all this again ? the P3A, controller, and battery's ?.
     
  14. Multicoptertec

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2016
    Messages:
    1,103
    Likes Received:
    313
    Location:
    Apollo Beach, Florida
    I was not prompted to update anything, I just wanted to stay up to date.
     
  15. kinsey

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2016
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    Carlisle, Cumbria, UK.
    I got a prompt tonight when I switched my drone on in settings saying new firmware update needed.
     
  16. SouthernPhantom

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2015
    Messages:
    315
    Likes Received:
    122
    Updated my P3P a few days ago. Flew several times today. All good!
     
  17. cbgeorge

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2016
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    4
    I am waiting to see if it is good and no secret downgrades snuck in it to limit performance, distance or altitude before I update mine!
     
  18. AeroVisionz

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2016
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Perth Western Australia
    Updated my P3P 3 days ago. First 2 batteries had perfect flights. 3rd and 4th batteries popup a 'ESC Status Error'. Now motors won't power up for any of the 4 batteries. ESC error.jpg
     
  19. Malster1

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2016
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    Bay Area California
    Following, I haven't updated yet, P3P.
     
  20. SouthernPhantom

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2015
    Messages:
    315
    Likes Received:
    122
    This new firmware for the P3P also needs to be updated on each of your batteries. Not every update requires this, but this one does.

    Load the .bin file onto your SD card again, and proceed exactly as if you're updating the firmware on the Phantom, using a different battery each time. You'll see the same sequence of beeps and blinking lights, except it happens much faster.

    Then, after each successful update (steady green light on the gimbal), turn off the unit, check the status on the txt file (I delete the txt after each one, but I don't think that's necessary), reinsert the SD card, and repeat with another battery.