Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Negative Altitude?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Masirahman, Dec 18, 2014.

  1. Masirahman

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2014
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    If I launch from the summit of a 300ft hill, descend 200ft into the "valley" below then hit Fail, what happens? Another scenario...can I only use Ground Station from this summit as long as I stay higher than launch point?
     
  2. SteveMann

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2014
    Messages:
    1,977
    Likes Received:
    653
    Location:
    Westford, MA
    Your Phantom would rise to 365 ft then fly home. (Launch altitude plus 20 meters). With the latest update of the firmware you can enter the RTH altitude, which is good for me since there are a lot of 100 ft trees around me.
     
  3. The Editor

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2013
    Messages:
    568
    Likes Received:
    7
    And.... the search function on this forum is a wonderful tool !!

    Oh and.... 'Hello' and 'Thanks' goes a long way as well !
     
  4. Masirahman

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2014
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello and Thanks......Rocket accepted. Forum conventions now noted. Will use what skills remain with me (aged 80) to try out the Search Function in future.
     
  5. Meta4

    Meta4 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7,748
    Likes Received:
    3,459
    G'day Masirahman .. welcome
    The search is a bit clumsy - there's lots of help here if you need it or can't find what you're looking for.
     
  6. The Editor

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2013
    Messages:
    568
    Likes Received:
    7
    Hi,

    Sorry... a bit harsh even for me !! ;) Welcome to the forum - don't let my 'bad day' reply put you off asking for help.