Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

NEED WIFI Module. Where to buy?

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Vision + Discussion' started by FalconPix, Feb 6, 2016.

  1. FalconPix

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2014
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've seen it on helipal and amazon for 189.99. Really? Is there anywhere cheaper?

    Might as well put the 189 towards the P3 advanced, but then I'm stuck with all these P2 batteries

    lol
     
  2. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,944
    Likes Received:
    5,578
    Location:
    US
    $189 is a good deal for that part.
     
  3. ARM

    ARM

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2016
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    5
    check Ebay!
     
  4. Chicago1

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2014
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    17
    Mike Holt (530-277-5366) - lots of parts - guaranteed. I am guessing $100.
     
  5. dirtdummy

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2015
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    New Hampshire
    Just bought one off Ebay for $49.
     
  6. AzDroner

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2015
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    14
    NEW ones are $189.00, don't think you'll find one cheaper. For what it is, if there was any competition, price would probably be, what, 39.95?
     
  7. Mark The Droner

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2015
    Messages:
    3,982
    Likes Received:
    1,161
    Location:
    Brookeville, MD, USA
    Are you sure you don't just need a new antenna? They're around five bucks.
     
  8. Karanba

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2015
    Messages:
    312
    Likes Received:
    21
    How can antennas be bad ? I have also problems with mine constantly connection and then after 30 sec saying Connection broken, everything 2ft from the copter.
     
  9. Mark The Droner

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2015
    Messages:
    3,982
    Likes Received:
    1,161
    Location:
    Brookeville, MD, USA
    Antennas can break at the pin which runs through the board that connects them. That crack will make the signal intermittent.
     
  10. Karanba

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2015
    Messages:
    312
    Likes Received:
    21
    How can I test if it is ok ? Or where to look if it is ok ?
     
  11. Mark The Droner

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2015
    Messages:
    3,982
    Likes Received:
    1,161
    Location:
    Brookeville, MD, USA
    If the antenna is cracked, it is likely somewhat loose on the board. Or it might be crooked on the board. Check it out. If it's cracked it should come right off. Clear the solder from the hole. Then you get yourself a new antenna for $5 and solder it in.

     
  12. AzDroner

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2015
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    14
    This is a GPS problem fix, not a black screen problem fix, unfortunately
     
  13. Mark The Droner

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2015
    Messages:
    3,982
    Likes Received:
    1,161
    Location:
    Brookeville, MD, USA
    Oh shoot of course it is. Blame it on lack of sleep last night. Sorry
     
  14. Karanba

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2015
    Messages:
    312
    Likes Received:
    21
    Im having Connection broken messages in my app and WiFi seems to be working. When I turn the Phantom ON it gives WiFi on InSSIDer program and its signal goes from -70 dBi to -95 dBi, it pulsates all the time to -95 dBi when the extender is not ON. That is why I want to know how can I check to find out what the problem is, WiFi, extender or the antennas.
     
  15. Mako79

    Joined:
    May 16, 2014
    Messages:
    3,413
    Likes Received:
    567
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    Find the hidden wifi and connect to it.
    Once connected, use DOS commands to find its IP and then ping it.
    If the ping fails, then the wifi module is bad.

    Back on topic.. I have a spare V2 non-perforated module (my backup) that has been revised with the artic 5 silver 'fix'. The only problem is that I'm too lazy to open up my P2 to validate that its still working. The last test I did (a year ago), I managed 800m at 640x480@15fps and 650 at 640*480@30fps. The only mods was that my P2 has a North South Wifi antenna.

    V2 Module 640x480@30fps.
    [​IMG]


    North South wifi antennas
    [​IMG]

    What country are you from Falcon? If you are interested, I might sell at a reasonable price.
    Thanks
     
  16. iowahill

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Roseville, CA
    Just bought a newer style controller (4 LEDs) WITH WiFi extender for $7 on eBay. Anything much more than that isn't necessary!
     
  17. hunch

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2014
    Messages:
    1,500
    Likes Received:
    225
    he's talking about internal WiFi unit, not RE (range extender) which is what you're referring too.
    and i'm pretty sure that if you got the controller with the RE for $7 it's defective ;)
     
  18. iowahill

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Roseville, CA
    Typo! Should have read "$47", but it DOES work with my P2V+. I just wasn't clear on which end of the WiFi link he was referring to.
     
  19. hunch

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2014
    Messages:
    1,500
    Likes Received:
    225
    oh ok.
    yeah $47 is a good deal for V3 controller with RE700, i assume that's the RE that came with.
    usually just the RE700 is more than that :)
     
  20. iowahill

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Roseville, CA
    Yes, the wIfI Extender came with it, and it's the newer style with four LEDs. It bound correctly (eventually) due to my inability to follow directions. I have two former wives who will attest to that! But I saw prices for similar controllers like mine with WiFi extenders going from around $40 to $75. Guess I got lucky, both with my formerly drowned P2V+ and THE CONTROLLER.