Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

ND filter + rebalance, do I need to change CG?

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Discussion' started by Spudboy, Apr 17, 2015.

  1. Spudboy

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2014
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    I finally got around to rebalancing my H3-3D after adding an ND filter to my Hero4 Black. So do you normally need to change the CG settings in Phantom Assistant to compensate?

    Thanks
     
  2. Ericf

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2014
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Idaho, USA
    I did the same thing and left the settings alone. Flys perfect. The added weight is almost dead center. I would be interested to hear if anyone knows a reason why you would want to mess with your gains/settings etc.
    My hero 4 on the other hand I believe to be defective. Sending it back for a replacement.
     
  3. GerryBerry

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2015
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hi Spudboy,

    How did you rebalance the H3-3D - I'm planning the add the filter to mine?

    TIA,

    Gerry
     
  4. Ericf

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2014
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Idaho, USA
    I used hook & loop (velcro) and coins. To balance the hero 4 with a Polar pro ND filter I used a Quarter on the tilt motor metal end and a quarter on the back of the rectangular plate that holds the gopro as close to the gimbal arm as possible. If I was home, I would take a picture of it...
     
  5. Spudboy

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2014
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Originally I had stuck a coin on the servo can, but that can cause buzzing of the motor. So now I have a small lead weight on the bottom back edge of the GoPro mounting plate, nearest the servo end, and a stick on tire balancing weight on the rectangular part of the arm, directly behind the side servo.
     
  6. GerryBerry

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2015
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thanks,
    I was trying coins, but they were getting in the way of the gimbal lock.

    Gerry
     
  7. Spudboy

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2014
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yea, I couldn't get enough weight with coins and still clear the arm.
     
  8. Fyod

    Joined:
    May 21, 2014
    Messages:
    684
    Likes Received:
    61
    Location:
    Central EU
    DO NOT stick coins directly on the motors (silver part). Stick them anywhere on the black supports.
     
  9. GerryBerry

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2015
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thanks Fyod,

    I had been adding coins to the back of the camera mounting bracket - I reckon lead is the answer.
    G
     
  10. TeamYankee

    Joined:
    May 30, 2014
    Messages:
    491
    Likes Received:
    42
    Location:
    Swansea, Wales, UK
    Nip down your local tire (tyre) garage.. see if they will part with various stick on lead weights that are used to balance alloy wheels....
     
  11. GerryBerry

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2015
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    1
    Excellent idea!
    G
     
  12. flyinghero

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2014
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,
    Most hobby shops sell stick on weights,
    they are low profile and they are made