Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Naza M v2 assistant Mac compatibility

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by discv, Mar 19, 2016.

  1. discv

    Joined:
    May 7, 2013
    Messages:
    619
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    London, UK
    A question, that I've tried everywhere to get an answer.
    Will/should the Mac version of the Naza M v2 assistant work with El Capitan?

    There must be a user of a late P1 (v.1.1.1)- or an FC40- or an F series build that holds the secret to this!

    DJI state it will run with Lion onwards. But with El Capitan I can partially run it directly from the download, but as soon as I drag the App into Applications the whole system locks up.
     
  2. MassDrone

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2016
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    34
    Location:
    Boston MetroWest
    Glad to help - I have a P1 v1.1.1. I run the Naza M v2 assistant on my retina MacBook Pro under El Capitan. It runs exactly the same way that the Windows version runs under Windows 7. Interestingly, I left the app on my desktop rather than moving it to the Applications folder. Maybe that's why it works?
     
    discv likes this.
  3. discv

    Joined:
    May 7, 2013
    Messages:
    619
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    London, UK
    MD, many thanks. You are the only person across many forums to even answer!

    I stopped experimenting when it froze my Mac completely.
    I'm running a Mac Pro, but shouldn't make any difference?
    Where I got to is that if I ran the app. straight from the download it seemed to work. I got to the 'skip' screen and then to the assistant. But it did not run further (maybe faulty usb lead)
    Did you drag the app. to your desktop rather than into applications?
    I've just made the leap from PC to Mac- hence my confusion!
     
  4. MassDrone

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2016
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    34
    Location:
    Boston MetroWest
    Yes, that's exactly what I did. I wanted it to be immediately find-able without having to dig into the applications folder. It should also work the same way on a MacPro.
     
    discv likes this.
  5. discv

    Joined:
    May 7, 2013
    Messages:
    619
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    London, UK
    I've deleted the app. and reinstalled- but it still locks my computer up.
    Interestingly DJI support have finally got back to me- with this odd reply-

    Quote
    Hello Sir,

    According to the parameters covered, it should be compatible. However, since we have not tested we can not be 100 percent sure. Thank you for your understanding.

    Best regards

    Technical support

    DJI GmbH


    So it's back to an old PC laptop!
     
  6. captduck

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2014
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    1
    I have this on my IMac 21.5" running El Capitan. I downloaded and installed it with no problem. I have it in my applications folder and have no problems running it for my Phantom 1 V1.1.1
     
    discv likes this.