My NG filter test with pictures

Reaction score
I used phantomfilters.com gel filters. They are inexpensive but very flimsy. I'd like some comments and maybe I'll upgrade to a glass filter. But I wanted to see if it was worth it. For my test I kept the stop consistent at 0.0 and let the camera automatically adjust the shutter speed to accommodate the stop. I'm still learning this stuff so feel free to chime in with opinions.

1st picture is original lense at 0.0 stop and 1/2500 shutter speed.

2nd picture is NG 16 at 0.0 and 1/120 (Ideally I think I wanted to be at 120?)

3rd picture is POL at 0.0 and 1/1000

4th picture is NG 8 at 0.0 and 1/320

Attachments

• original at 0.0 and 1.2500.JPG
    original at 0.0 and 1.2500.JPG
    4 MB · Views: 508
  • NG 16 at 0.0 and 1.120.JPG
    NG 16 at 0.0 and 1.120.JPG
    4.2 MB · Views: 420
  • Pol at 0.0 and 1.1000.JPG
    Pol at 0.0 and 1.1000.JPG
    3.6 MB · Views: 410
  • NG 8 at 0.0 and 1.320.JPG
    NG 8 at 0.0 and 1.320.JPG
    3.6 MB · Views: 458
I think I was looking for more detail in the clouds, not so washed out, and more detail by using these filters. Will glass filters work even better?

ND filters won't change the look of your photos in general (except to slow down shutter speed and add motion blur to fast moving objects.) that's what 'neutral density' means - no shift in color!

A circular polarizer will cut haze and make the sky darker and clouds pop IF you have it oriented correctly and shoot at a 90 degree angle to the sun (the sun on one of your shoulders. Not sure how you can possibly have a circular polarizer in a flimsy filter insert and expect to get it at the correct angle though.

So, what you're saying is..... If I don't care about shutter speed I just adjust my settings to 0.0 stop and that will get me the best picture? Even with the native lens?

I mean right now I don't plan on taking any action photos so I'm not sure why I'd need the ND filters.