Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Modified phantom vision H3-3D FPV, 2.4Ghz RC recommendations?

Discussion in 'FPV (First Person View)' started by agestam, Sep 25, 2015.

  1. agestam

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2015
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi, just realized that my RC is not a 2.4Ghz system but the 5.8Ghz Phantom Vision version. Now I already invested in H3-3D, GoPro and FPV 5.8Ghz. Wondered why my range was so short! :p

    What do you recommend investing in? Another Phantom 2 basic to put all my equipment on or buying a new Futaba 14SG RC or something like that? Don't really want to invest in the P3 just yet.

    Is there other cheaper as good options for RC?
     
  2. jason

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014
    Messages:
    4,099
    Likes Received:
    404
    Location:
    Commerce Twp,MI
    You could modify gimbal and camera to use the wifi 5.8Ghz system you already have. You would need a wifi extender and either a tablet or iphone if you don't already have them.
     
  3. agestam

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2015
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is that really possible? Have never heard anyone being able to use the GoPro and H3-3D with a tablet... That would be cool, cause I already have the wifi stuff!

    I saw that I probably can buy the spare parts for a 2.4Ghz receiver and switch system inside the phantom, and buy a new 2.4Ghz RC controller. that would be cheaper than a futaba or new machine.
     
  4. jason

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014
    Messages:
    4,099
    Likes Received:
    404
    Location:
    Commerce Twp,MI
    Yes it is totally possible and you can even use the GoPro's wifi. All the info on how to do it can be found in thread #252
    http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=2213815&page=17
     
  5. agestam

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2015
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks! I'll check it out! Otherwise I'll just switch the receiver and buy another 2.4Ghz controller.
     
  6. Joesrevolution

    Joined:
    May 14, 2014
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    18
    Location:
    Devon
    IMO use the Futaba 8J as a pose to the 14SG. Just as easy to use and muuuuch cheeper ;-)
     
  7. agestam

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2015
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks! I figured the easiest fix was to get a new dji 2.4Ghz system and just switch. It was in my price range too.