Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Mode Change to 61 w/Error code 63 Notification

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by TX-Xced, Oct 3, 2015.

  1. TX-Xced

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2015
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    Anyone see this before - anything to be concerned about?

    Other than the normal iOS lag and pixilation I didn't notice anything strange when flying.

    HealthyDrones_com_-_Innovative_flight_data_analysis_that_matters.jpg
     
  2. brianb87

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2015
    Messages:
    788
    Likes Received:
    148
    I have not. I would check healthydrones forum. If you can't find an answer I would start a thread, Eran will respond with an answer.
     
  3. D4T_PoM

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2015
    Messages:
    693
    Likes Received:
    183
    Location:
    London UK
    From the picture it looks likes you are next to an air strip.

    That may be the cause.
     
    brianb87 likes this.
  4. Jbundy63

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2015
    Messages:
    623
    Likes Received:
    164
    WOW that's crazy, I haven't seen that. Your altitude starts out in the negative and then the number goes sky high in the negative. Definitely Eran may know and may want to try and call DJI like it says? ImageUploadedByPhantomPilots - DJI Phantom Forum1443926955.682951.jpg
     
  5. TX-Xced

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2015
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    Thanks guys - I haven't checked the healthy drones forum but will do.

    This was my first flight at this location, there were about 4 other RC aircraft up in the air at the time. So maybe it was just bad interference.

    Its a RC flying field :) Runway is only about 200yds long :)
     
    Jbundy63 likes this.
  6. Jbundy63

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2015
    Messages:
    623
    Likes Received:
    164
    That very well could be the issue and would be very careful if you fly and maybe not on that spot till you get an answer.
     
  7. brianb87

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2015
    Messages:
    788
    Likes Received:
    148
    I checked it, by search and nothing came up. I made a thread about it. I'm curious to what it might be. I have yet to see that error.
     
  8. Shammyh

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2015
    Messages:
    325
    Likes Received:
    154
    I'd be concerned.

    Maybe loss of GPS data internally for some reason? Loss of barometer data?

    Either way, never seen that on mine and would probably do a firmware reload, IMU cal, and compass cal before flying again if I did.
    I'd also probably keep it very close and low for the next couple of flights.

    Could be a one-off glitch or could be signs of imminent doom.

    Oh, and please don't fly over people or populated places until you're certain everything is operating correctly.
     
    #8 Shammyh, Oct 3, 2015
    Last edited: Oct 3, 2015
  9. Jbundy63

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2015
    Messages:
    623
    Likes Received:
    164
    Agreed!
     
  10. TX-Xced

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2015
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    Yea thats a good idea, I'll wait before flying at that field again. Do plan on flying tomorrow in a known good area so I see what happens there. Maybe the code is the secret R-T-C return-to-china :rolleyes:
     
    Jbundy63 likes this.
  11. Jbundy63

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2015
    Messages:
    623
    Likes Received:
    164
    LOL That's funny If you decide to fly I would do like Shammyh recommends on all the calibrations, etc.
    keep us informed of what goes on. Safe flying
     
  12. TX-Xced

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2015
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    Here's a link to the Healthydrones report.
    HealthyDrones.com - Innovative flight data analysis that matters

    Does show GPS dropped to less than 6-sats.

    Flight time Altitude Home Distance GPS Satellite Count
    A 00m 05s -0.7 ft 0 ft 15+
    B 01m 16s 83.7 ft 21 ft 6 and below
    C 01m 21s 84.3 ft 21 ft 15+
     
    brianb87 likes this.
  13. Jbundy63

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2015
    Messages:
    623
    Likes Received:
    164
    Yeah that's not good you definitely want a least 10 sats. At any time, the more the better.
     
  14. TX-Xced

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2015
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    RGR Will do

    Plan on following Shammyh's suggestions as well.
     
  15. brianb87

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2015
    Messages:
    788
    Likes Received:
    148
    Eran's response

    -"I haven't seen this before. Reviewing this log, when this warning shows up, some of the sensors go completely wild. The altitude is -3267 meters, speed is in the tens of thousands, the aircraft is pitching and rolling in an impossible angle, 127 satellites and the coordinates are not located on earth. More than that - this specific record actually shows up at 75.5 seconds (1:15), but with an entry claiming it's from 31.9s.

    So something went very wrong. It could be a bug in the DJI app which saves the TXT log file, or something very wrong with the aircraft. Please ask the owner to not fly it until they talk to DJI!"
     
  16. kphantom

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2015
    Messages:
    373
    Likes Received:
    80
    I bet it was interference from the other flyers at the RC field. The data that was logged is not realistic, and when bad communications links occur, strange errors will typically happen. Fly alone in a safe area without sources of interference and all should be fine.
     
  17. brianb87

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2015
    Messages:
    788
    Likes Received:
    148
    I agree it was most likely interference but I would still contact DJI just to be sure.
     
  18. TX-Xced

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2015
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    brianb87 and Jbundy63 like this.
  19. Shammyh

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2015
    Messages:
    325
    Likes Received:
    154
    Both look nearly completely fine.

    I'd still be a bit cautious for the next few flights, but hopefully it was a fluke.

    Could you possibly pull the internal flight logs from the Phantom itself? Be curious to see how those compare with the controller side logs.

    Would also isolate the issue to controller side if nothing is abnormal in the bird logs.
     
  20. TX-Xced

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2015
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    Surething - Do I upload those logs to Heathydrone as well?