Miniature stabilized head for GoPro and smartphones

Reaction score
Hi all,
I am a noob on this forum, but no less a Phantom aficionado :)
I wanted to share with you my creation for professional filmmakers that can be mounted on multirotors and can stabilize a few different action cameras, but also smartphones. Please take a look at the video on my Kickstrater page and let me know your thoughts.

http://www.kickstarter.com/projects/wiggly/stabilized-head-for-iphone-gopro-and-compact-camer

Thank you!

3d3c01ca082f8daa7490fbe3f5f62a65_large.png

Thank you justsomeguy!
Good points.
If you have an extra channel you can control the pitch on Wiggly too.
Also, I take the battery out and power it from the phantom to make it lighter.

Cheers,

Very nice...looks like you created the portable gimbal that the gopro has needed for a long time. I was already looking at the common "stick an existing gimbal on some tubing" solutions, but this will probably be a game-changer for that segment.

I am glad you like it OI Photography,
Hopefully, I will get this product funded on Kickstrater and be able to keep working on product extensions in a few months.
I would like to make a really bad-*** gimbal for multirotors.

Cheers,

Sudija said:
Also, I take the battery out and power it from the phantom to make it lighter.

So when you do that, how much does it end up weighing?

imagine you'd want to design a vibration isolation mount for it as well to reduce jello.

I'll have to measure precisely and get back to you with exact weight.
It's not much heavier than your typical gimbal, but more reliable only because I'm using lot stronger motors for x and y axes.

You're right about the vibration, I designed a custom mount with 6 dampening rubbers, however, I am still working on positioning the camera closer to the center. Small UAVs like Phantom are very sensitive to being front heavy, but the small space between standard DJI landing gear doesn't provide leave many options.