Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Manual gimbal

Discussion in 'Phantom 1 Help' started by kjar211, Oct 17, 2015.

  1. kjar211

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2015
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    14
    My question is if I don't want to connect the gimbal for pitch control can I simply adjust the angle of the Gopro that I want to record in and just have the gimbal stay steady. I just want to adjust the angle of the camera manually not with transmitter. Is this possible and is there a certain gimbal I need for this. I am not planning on opening up the controller to do that. Thanks
     
  2. Monte55

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2014
    Messages:
    2,195
    Likes Received:
    517
    Location:
    Raymore Missouri
     
    kjar211 likes this.
  3. kjar211

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2015
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    14
    I saw the video really cool but doesn't say the make and model. I sent guy message.
     
  4. Monte55

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2014
    Messages:
    2,195
    Likes Received:
    517
    Location:
    Raymore Missouri
    Make and model of what?
     
  5. kjar211

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2015
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    14
    This gimbal
     
  6. Monte55

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2014
    Messages:
    2,195
    Likes Received:
    517
    Location:
    Raymore Missouri
    It's on the video. Walkera G2D plastic gimbal. The plastic is lighter than the metal one. It can be had for about $70. Some will charge more. It can be powered from the aux power leads from the Phantom. I power mine with a separate 7.4 volt 850 ma lipo. No need to connect to Phantom. The pitch can be adjusted by a small pot on the gimbal.
     
  7. kjar211

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2015
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    14
    I have to open my P1 the aux power wire is not showing through any holes. If I want to solder to that aux wire it would be a JST plug and what's the name of the other plug that I may use that connects to balance of battery. Some gimbal's use either jst or white plug.
     
  8. Monte55

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2014
    Messages:
    2,195
    Likes Received:
    517
    Location:
    Raymore Missouri
    The flight time on a P1 with the gimbal and gopro camera is already short. About eight minutes or so on 2200 ma batteries. If you use the flight battery to power the gimbal it will be less. Something to think about.
     
  9. Monte55

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2014
    Messages:
    2,195
    Likes Received:
    517
    Location:
    Raymore Missouri
    Another reason I didn't want to use the Phantom power for the gimbal is if the gimbal shorted or something, I didn't want it bringing down the Phantom.
     
  10. kjar211

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2015
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    14
    I want to say thank you all for the guidance I opened it up and found the aux cable. I fixed it through the hole. Thank u all for the guidance. Next step install gimbal xmas time lol
     
  11. Jay H

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2015
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    68
    Location:
    Long Island, New York
    hey man, im on long island, i just installed a walkera g-2d gimbal into mine. i can help you out if you need.
     
  12. kjar211

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2015
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    14

    Awesome thank you. I should be getting it around the holidays. I'm in Levittown. Do you fly with a group out solo
     
  13. Jay H

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2015
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    68
    Location:
    Long Island, New York
    sometimes with friends but mostly solo. i usually like to shoot video with my phantom but long island doesnt really have any interesting scenery to film lol.