Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Larger batteries for the Phantom?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Bjorn Thore, Mar 9, 2013.

  1. Bjorn Thore

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2013
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Norway
    Is there any one out there how have tried a larger battery on the phantom. I Have a customize 2 axis gimbal from rc-drones. The Gimbal makes it possible to use two batteries or one larger.

    I have used two 22000 3s c25 11,1V. The phantom flies good with that. I also use fat shark predator V2 for the fpv. My flight time with go pro hero 3, and two batteries (pararell connections) and fpv was 12 minute.

    The total weight was 1267 grams. I don't think its safe to fly the phantom with that weight, or???

    But i i use one larger battery feks 4000 mAh then the totale wight will be 1195 gram total. I Have order new pros Graupner 8X6, and hope this props will help as well


    Any one have some experience withe a larger batteries, and what was the flight time? Can someone tell the different between orginal props vs graupner?


    Regards Bjorn
    (Here is some photo of my Phantom custom
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Gizmo3000

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    1,859
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Sherman Oaks, CA
    I haven't much experience, but boy I'd say you're pushing the threshold!

    It takes x amount of energy to keep a heavier-than-air craft aloft.
    adding more weight requires more energy...
    but keep in mind that you'll be requiring the motors to work harder and putting more stress on the props.
    I'd imagine you'd get much more stable (and safer) flights switching to the Graupners, tho unsure if you'd be putting too much stress on the motors if you went with 9'" vs the regular 8" props
     
  3. Bjorn Thore

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2013
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Norway
    Thanks!

    Yeah i think you are right! I have removed the gimbal (130 grams), and put on some lighter lipo batteries. My experience with the gimbal, is that it gives more jello to the video.

    Now I am using the original go pro hero 3 case, with robber mount scrues. And offcourse two lipo 2200 3s 25c 11,1 batteries (161 grams). I dont know the total weight now, but it`s much more lighter. There is no signs of jello :)

    I will post a foto if somebody is interested too se my new upgrade.


    Regard
    Bjorn
     
  4. MX45OR

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2013
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok, I'll bite. Post them up. So, were the videos unusable? Did you try to get the jello out of the gimbal, or was the Phantom just not powerful enough with it on?
    I too use the original case and use the upside down function on the Hero3. No dampening material used,and I dont have any jello in my videos using the 960 @ 100fps. What settings do you use?
     
  5. Bjorn Thore

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2013
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Norway
    Here is some vid with the gimbal, you will see the disturbance in the vid. the last vid is with the Go PRO case (robber mount). The picture is perfect enough.

    Too me it was clearly the gimbal that made the jello. I have also tried the gopro case with almost the same weight, and no jello.


    All the shoots is with gopro hero 3 silver edition 720, 60 frames.

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6-MF4VfT ... e=youtu.be

    Here is a photo of my upgraded phantom.




    Regards
    Bjorn
     

    Attached Files:

  6. Gizmo3000

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    1,859
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Sherman Oaks, CA
    Interesting. Sounds like Gimbals are kind of hit-or-miss.
    (one of the video's that pops up on the side of your youtube movie it titled "Gimbal solved Jello"!@# :cry:
     
  7. icube

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    i believed gimbals are used to level the camera when the craft goes into roll and pitch, not as a way to eliminate the jello.
     
  8. Bjorn Thore

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2013
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Norway
    Thats is true, but ....... since you are going to pay a big $ for it, it better work, not make it worst.
     
  9. Bjorn Thore

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2013
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Norway
  10. auck

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2013
    Messages:
    275
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    for the most part this is not entirely true. the jello effect is partially and primarily due to the camera being shaken by the vibrations coming off of the phantom. likewise if the gimbal itself is not moving smoothly due to a bad motor, this will also cause the jello effect. the following link provides further information on the cmos rolling shutter effect. hope it helps.

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rolling_shutter
     
  11. pwright

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2013
    Messages:
    282
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Las Cruces, NM
    Nonsense. Reduce the vibration and you reduce the effect. Balancing the props makes a huge difference. You can find a number of before/after videos on YouTube that demonstrate this. Using isolation mounts also showed a marked improvement. Putting an ND filter on the GoPro also seems to help as seen in this video:

    [youtube]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=12psgQFBNbU[/youtube].
     
  12. Bjorn Thore

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2013
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Norway
    Tanks again Gizmo!