Larger batteries for the Phantom?

Reaction score
Is there any one out there how have tried a larger battery on the phantom. I Have a customize 2 axis gimbal from rc-drones. The Gimbal makes it possible to use two batteries or one larger.

I have used two 22000 3s c25 11,1V. The phantom flies good with that. I also use fat shark predator V2 for the fpv. My flight time with go pro hero 3, and two batteries (pararell connections) and fpv was 12 minute.

The total weight was 1267 grams. I don't think its safe to fly the phantom with that weight, or???

But i i use one larger battery feks 4000 mAh then the totale wight will be 1195 gram total. I Have order new pros Graupner 8X6, and hope this props will help as well

Any one have some experience withe a larger batteries, and what was the flight time? Can someone tell the different between orginal props vs graupner?

Regards Bjorn
(Here is some photo of my Phantom custom

Attachments

• IMG_1314.jpg
    IMG_1314.jpg
    16.4 KB · Views: 2,555
  • IMG_1313.jpg
    IMG_1313.jpg
    29.3 KB · Views: 2,423
I haven't much experience, but boy I'd say you're pushing the threshold!

It takes x amount of energy to keep a heavier-than-air craft aloft.
adding more weight requires more energy...
but keep in mind that you'll be requiring the motors to work harder and putting more stress on the props.
I'd imagine you'd get much more stable (and safer) flights switching to the Graupners, tho unsure if you'd be putting too much stress on the motors if you went with 9'" vs the regular 8" props

Thanks!

Yeah i think you are right! I have removed the gimbal (130 grams), and put on some lighter lipo batteries. My experience with the gimbal, is that it gives more jello to the video.

Now I am using the original go pro hero 3 case, with robber mount scrues. And offcourse two lipo 2200 3s 25c 11,1 batteries (161 grams). I dont know the total weight now, but it`s much more lighter. There is no signs of jello :)