Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Is this normal because I think not...

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by Dronebow, Jul 16, 2015.

  1. Dronebow

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2015
    Messages:
    445
    Likes Received:
    156
    Location:
    Texas
    Ok, I'm not really a fan of this new firmware. First I really think I am getting less range. A lot less range. Second, I tried to play back a video, very short at 11 seconds and it would not do it. Previously it didn't have any problems at all.

    Now, this may or may not be a firmware issue but I decided to set the height at 8' and fly it around to see how it performed at lower heights. It kept losing altitude. But that's not the worst part. It thought it was still at 8' off the ground. In this screenshot it's about 4" off the ground. Anyone else seen this issue? I was flying around with the right stick only not touching the left.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Ken Cruise

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2015
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    54
    Location:
    Winston-Salem N.C.
    I have noticed when I fly at very low altitude (under 10 ft) it does not keep. It wants to drop down and sometimes has to boost itself back up. Is that what you mean?
     
  3. loganboyd

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2013
    Messages:
    398
    Likes Received:
    117
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    is VPS on or off?
    Also, without VPS it's telling you it is 7.9 feet above the alitude from where it was launched. It doesn't know where the ground is under it if VPS isn't being used!
     
  4. Quadad

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2015
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    After latest update, my gimbal dial has no effect on the gimbal. Nobody else seems to be experiencing this anywhere.

    Sent from my D6616 using Tapatalk
     
  5. amused2deth

    Joined:
    May 28, 2015
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    13
    Where can you turn it on n off?

    Sent from my SM-N910T using Tapatalk
     
  6. vincey2kr1

    Joined:
    May 11, 2015
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    14
    Yeah mine does the same thing with vps on keeps coming down from around 10 feet.. She nearly tipped over when I tried to hover at 3 feet and it came down rather hard. To say the least my flight times have drastically been reduced since the last firmware, my video distance has been cut in half .. Supposedly they reduced the number of channels because of some sort of FCC reg.. Wishing there was a way to force the older firmware.
     
    Dronebow likes this.
  7. Dronebow

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2015
    Messages:
    445
    Likes Received:
    156
    Location:
    Texas
    I started hovering about 8' and was flying it around at that height. It slowly descends when changing direction or going fast in any direction but it never recovers it self back to the set height. It finally wound up about 4" from the ground but thought it was 7.9'.
     
  8. Dronebow

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2015
    Messages:
    445
    Likes Received:
    156
    Location:
    Texas
    It's in P mode GPS so everything is enabled. Flat ground everywhere so there's no elevation changes at all.
     
  9. Dronebow

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2015
    Messages:
    445
    Likes Received:
    156
    Location:
    Texas
    Yes, I have also noticed that the video distance has been reduced. At about 2000' with a clear LOS it starts to cut out. Still has a strong remote signal though. I never should have updated the firmware... this version is garbage.
     
  10. sdharris

    Joined:
    May 9, 2013
    Messages:
    450
    Likes Received:
    151
    Location:
    South West, England
    If you have VPS on this could be the VPS bug in the latest firmware, mine does not hold steady compared with previous firmwares and will also show readings of 4 feet when its at 50 feet.
     
  11. amused2deth

    Joined:
    May 28, 2015
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    13
    I took mine out with the 1.2.6 firmware and I hate it. Very choppy video on my phone only a few yards out. The previous firmware was great, no problems. Hope they fix it soon!

    Sent from my SM-N910T using Tapatalk
     
  12. tschwartzrn

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2015
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm still running 1.1.9 with no problems. 80 plus flights and 3 crashes lol
     
  13. J.James

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2014
    Messages:
    1,882
    Likes Received:
    162
    Location:
    Upstate NY
    ya the last to vershions of the pilot app took out the channels for ch 1 -13 and range can be effected big time. Its not the firmware its the pilot app.

    I went from being able to get an easy 2 miles in one spot I fly and at the same heights and even if I go up higher I can even punch threw a full mile before it loses connection.. and one other spot I was able to get way over 2 miles and some times even as far as 3 in real good conditions and now I I cant even bust a single mile there either or any ware eles i have flown even if In the country side and flying from a hill.
    I'm really pissed to cause I dont have any saved copies of the app that worked on my pc to be able to reinstall it.
     
  14. F6Rider

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2014
    Messages:
    1,126
    Likes Received:
    346
    Location:
    Foothills Of The Sierra's, California
    When you update the pilot app on your IOS device be sure to also update on iTunes, this is because iTunes sends the old version ipa to the trash, where you can retrieve it and save it to your P3 folder with all the other files you are keeping. That way you can downgrade if needed.
     
  15. Dronebow

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2015
    Messages:
    445
    Likes Received:
    156
    Location:
    Texas
    So what version is the good version?
     
  16. J.James

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2014
    Messages:
    1,882
    Likes Received:
    162
    Location:
    Upstate NY
    I think its v1.0.0.1