Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

iosd mini updating

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Discussion' started by DesertFlyer53, Feb 28, 2014.

  1. DesertFlyer53

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2014
    Messages:
    630
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Ridgecrest, CA
    Hi all. I just received my iosd mini. I have a mac computer so can't update the mini. Is it really necessary to update the firmware on a new iosd mini?
     
  2. rmklaw

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2013
    Messages:
    300
    Likes Received:
    1
    Yes. It fixes an issue with displaying some data.
     
  3. dentedk

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2014
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Mine will be here next week. How are Mac users supposed to update if they dont have access to anything windows?
     
  4. FASTFJR

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2013
    Messages:
    1,201
    Likes Received:
    169
    Location:
    South East PA
    Good question, I'm in the same boat........
     
  5. DesertFlyer53

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2014
    Messages:
    630
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Ridgecrest, CA
    That's my question also!
     
  6. OI Photography

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    5,542
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Clarksville, TN
    I'll be happy to update the iOSD for any mac users who are in that much of a bind, but I'm sure it would be easier to just find someone locally with a PC and ask them to give you a hand with that real quick.
     
  7. ianwood

    ianwood Taco Wrangler
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Messages:
    4,922
    Likes Received:
    1,799
    Location:
    Lost Angeles
    Your options are:

    • find a friend with a Windows machine.
    • Install VMWare Fusion (or Parallels) and create a Windows instance.
    • Wait for DJI to get off their butts and do the Mac version.
     
  8. dentedk

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2014
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is it a major update or can it wait until they release something for the Mac? Maybe I will have to try to find someone with a PC....not that I even know how to use one!! LOL
     
  9. stevet

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2014
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Francisco
    I would recommend http://www.vmware.com/products/fusion as well, esp if you have to do this often. I'm also not sure if anyone will get the ground station since I think its only windows and ipad.. so if you needed to do stuff in windows for osx users this is prob the best solution.
     
  10. LuvMyTJ

    LuvMyTJ ADMINISTRATOR
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2014
    Messages:
    6,811
    Likes Received:
    4,376
    Location:
    Live! From New York!
    Same problem here, Mac, no Windows. So I borrowed a PC and downloaded the iosd assistant but the iosd will not connect to the PC. Any suggestions as I know next to nothing about Windows 7. I have the P2 powered up, usb cable plugged into PC and then I fire up the assistant but no joy. I am at a loss here.
     
  11. DesertFlyer53

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2014
    Messages:
    630
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Ridgecrest, CA
  12. goldfishrock

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Messages:
    427
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Devon, UK
    There is no need to spend cash on VMs. Oracle's VM Virtualbox is excellent (... about the only thing Oracle that is IMHO :lol: ) and compatible with OSX.

    https://www.virtualbox.org/
     
  13. LuvMyTJ

    LuvMyTJ ADMINISTRATOR
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2014
    Messages:
    6,811
    Likes Received:
    4,376
    Location:
    Live! From New York!
    Gotta love Windows and all the flaming hoops you have to jump through to do the simplest of task. Makes me love my Mac's even more. Never owned a Windows machine in 30+ years of computing and never will. Finally got my iOSD updated and I am excited to get it out and try my new FPV setup! :ugeek:
     
  14. 6600RPM

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2014
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    Because I use an iMac exclusively and don't have access to a PC, I recently installed VMware Fusion in order to update my iOSD mini. VMware Fusion works well on a Mac but also requires a Windows operating system; it doesn't come with one. I took the plunge and installed Windows 8.

    I had no problems updating my iOSD mini with VMWare and Windows 8. If you go this approach, however, remember that you also need to download a special DJI Windows 8 driver and install it prior to installing the iOSD mini driver.

    This was a relatively expensive fix, but one good thing is I now have a platform for the PhoenixRC and RealFlight flight simulators, which only run on Windows. PhoenixRC is really awesome on an an iMac.
     
  15. Bluegrass

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2014
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've never owned a Mac and never will. On to the iosd mini. I flew mine last week for the first time. I can see the telemetry on my monitor OK but now that I see there is software to update it I guess I will. I don't know how the assistants are on a Mac but my big objection to it on my PC is that it's in a window that can't be resized or taken to full screen and the readability sucks because of that. I'm use to the two finger spread on my Surface computer.
     
  16. LuvMyTJ

    LuvMyTJ ADMINISTRATOR
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2014
    Messages:
    6,811
    Likes Received:
    4,376
    Location:
    Live! From New York!
    I would only update the iOSD if you are having troubles with it, otherwise leave it be. The Mac & Windows software is the same. The window is 8" x 6.5" on my screen. Maybe try it on a computer instead of a tablet and see if that helps.
     
  17. freelanceshots

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2013
    Messages:
    187
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Dallas, Texas
    Please describe the process to update the iOSD mini device mounted to the underside of my Phantom. I have a mac and PC laptop.
     
  18. LuvMyTJ

    LuvMyTJ ADMINISTRATOR
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2014
    Messages:
    6,811
    Likes Received:
    4,376
    Location:
    Live! From New York!
    Plug in the usb cable to the iOSD, power up the craft and use the DJI software for the iOSD to update.
    Look up your craft then look for the software tab. The iOSD updater only comes in a Windows version.
     
  19. freelanceshots

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2013
    Messages:
    187
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Dallas, Texas
    Thanks for the explanation. One more question. Do I use the USB cable that's coming out of the isod that runs to the landing gear? I bought mine already pieced together and I'm new to this device. I'll see if I can do the update on my days off starting tomorrow.
     
  20. OI Photography

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    5,542
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Clarksville, TN
    The cable that connects the iOSD to the port on the leg is called a canbus. What you need to use is a micro-USB cable, the one that came with your Phantom should work fine...there's a small port for it on the side of the iOSD.