Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Professional IMU Calibration Problem

Discussion in 'Phantom 3 Help' started by JSamJr, Apr 11, 2016.

  1. JSamJr

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2016
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Pluckemin, NJ
    Having problem calibrating IMU in Phantom 3 Pro. Finally had a nice day to fly but GO app said to calibrate IMU. When I got into calibration menu none of the boxes had any numbers showing. Clicking Check IMU and Calibrate IMU did nothing. Even waited until the Phantom's battery reached 50%. Phantom flew without problems last time and I had no crashes. Followed all the procedures: Fully charged batteries, cool bird and battery, level surface away from any magnetic material. Any ideas?
     
  2. Numone

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2016
    Messages:
    879
    Likes Received:
    237
    Location:
    Surrey, England
    I'd try de/reinstalling the GO App as a starter. I had to do this when the installed version resolutely refused to allow me to calibrate the compass. Deleted, reinstalled and bingo, all was well again so happy days....
     
  3. JSamJr

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2016
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Pluckemin, NJ
    Thanks for the tip.
    I reinstalled the app but still no joy. Sensors screen just shows blank boxes and pressing calibrate does nothing. I have been using a Samsung Galaxy Tap but tried with an iPad mini as well with the same results
     
  4. JSamJr

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2016
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Pluckemin, NJ
    Update: Before I had problems with IMU calibration I had updated the Transmitter via the DJI Go app. Then when I went to fly the Calibrate IMU warning appeared and when trying to calibrate there was no responce. Now I switched to a friends transmitter and the calibration now went off without a hitch. Looks like the update to the TX was the problem. No how do I fix this problem?
     
  5. Okwaho

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Ventura, CA
    Have you updated the aircraft to 1.08 yet?
     
  6. JSamJr

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2016
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Pluckemin, NJ
    I updated it several months ago. How do I tell which update the aircraft has?
     
  7. Air Ontario

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2016
    Messages:
    1,271
    Likes Received:
    493
    Location:
    U.S./ Canada
    Can you connect to bird? Start RC then tablet then bird, when it connects see if it shows in the dji app, top right corner(3 bars) to general settings, then scroll down to About>version should show there.

    If it doesn't show up there in app, download to your PC, the zip file from DJI, the latest FW version. Unzip and place .bin file in root on your sd card, then insert into bird and start bird ONLY nothing else.

    If it needed an update it will take it if not it won't.

    Pull sd card after bird is powered down and insert sd card in PC. See if it has a .txt file.
    Simply read the sd card .txt file to see what happened "Successful", "Aborted"
     
  8. shelly isidore

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2016
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi am having this same issue , I get no numbers in sensor boxes for imu and the lights just keep flashing yellow after power up , can you plz help ?
     
  9. JSamJr

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2016
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Pluckemin, NJ
    Thanks. I'll try to update via SD card today and report back.
     
  10. shelly isidore

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2016
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have tried the sd card update and mine doesn`t seem to start the process
     
  11. JSamJr

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2016
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Pluckemin, NJ
    OK. All is well. I updated the firmware and then everything was back to normal. I think there should be a warning to update the aircraft firmware Before the RC transmitter. Thanks Air Ontario:)
     
  12. JSamJr

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2016
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Pluckemin, NJ
    Did you use latest firmware update V 01.08.0080 from DJI website? The link here sends you to V 01.07.0060