Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

How to turn Time-lapse mode on?

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by MariposaLand, May 29, 2015.

  1. MariposaLand

    Joined:
    May 7, 2015
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    22
    I've read the manual and searched through the app and cannot find a way to get into timelapse mode. I am sure It is right in front of my face....but it don't see it. Any hints for this novice?
     
    Advexure likes this.
  2. Advexure

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2014
    Messages:
    366
    Likes Received:
    163
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA - New York, NY - Sheboygan, WI
    To access timelapse mode holder down the shutter button for about 3 seconds and this will open up a circular photo options menu. From there you will see a few different options.

    #1 - Single Photo
    #2 - Burst Mode
    #3 - AEB (Automatic Exposure Bracketing)
    #4 - Timelapse mode

    It is definitely not an easy setting to find if you're just looking around! Enjoy! :D
     
  3. Rider82

    Joined:
    May 11, 2015
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    10
    Click and hold the shutter button for menu to come up, including those options.
     
    Advexure likes this.
  4. RyanK

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2015
    Messages:
    253
    Likes Received:
    46
    Which one do you pick for hdr?
     
  5. ranger052

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2015
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    6
    So with option number 4 it will create a time lapse video?
     
  6. Advexure

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2014
    Messages:
    366
    Likes Received:
    163
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA - New York, NY - Sheboygan, WI
    AEB is used for HDRs

    With option 4 you will select the interval for timelapse photos to take a photo every X seconds. You would then be able to compile all of the photos in post to create a timelapse video.
     
  7. ranger052

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2015
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    6
    got it thanks
     
    Advexure likes this.
  8. 4wd

    4wd

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    2,532
    Likes Received:
    421
    Location:
    North York Moors
    It confused me at first because the icon they use is for self timer with most cameras (not much use with this!)
     
    Advexure likes this.
  9. MariposaLand

    Joined:
    May 7, 2015
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    22
    Thank you SO much! I'm not totally blind after all:)
     
    Advexure likes this.
  10. DammitCletus

    Joined:
    May 25, 2015
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    29
    While we're at it, how in gods name does one toggle VPS? Is it possible to tilt your camera above level to the horizon?
     
  11. Turbazz

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    Messages:
    421
    Likes Received:
    31
    Location:
    UK. Leicester.
    Correct me if I'm wrong doesn't timelapse mode take a picture every so often? Then runs it in one small movie. Drone only stays up for 20 minutes
     
  12. aburkefl

    Joined:
    May 18, 2015
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    30
    I can't imagine what kind of time-lapse sequence one could get from a 15 minute flight! Time-lapse photos are most often spread over quite a long period of time - like maybe taking a pic every 5 seconds, but you take pictures for an hour or two (or more). In 15 minutes of flight, taking a picture every 5 seconds (just as an example) will create a time-lapse video that will not be very long!

    Remember, your taking a single frame. But when you play back a time-lapse, you're going to be playing it back at 24 or 30 or 60 fps. Look at some of the GoPro examples on YouTube. I just don't see the practicality of time-lapse from a quad.
     
  13. ghinson

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2013
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    42
    I have the same doubts... But. That said. Has anyone tried it? Does it process the photos and create a .mov file out of them, or do you just end up with a folder of images that need to be assembled? As steady as these things are, it is still hard to image a time lapse being stable enough to be enjoyable...
     
  14. 4wd

    4wd

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    2,532
    Likes Received:
    421
    Location:
    North York Moors
    I don't suppose you would typically make it into an animated film, but you'd have a large number of stills might be useful in some situations.
    Don't forget gopro users wanting stills can only work like that with it on a phantom as they can't change from video to stills during flight.

    You can quite easily assemble photo stills into a time-lapse in Lightroom for example and you can do photo-style manipulation through all the frames..
    There are many possibilities.
     
  15. Gangapat

    Joined:
    May 27, 2015
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    10
    Depends on what you need, personally I see a lot of use in the timer function because I plan to use my P3 for mapping. So you set the timer on 5 or maybe 7 seconds and then you slowly fly a grid over an area, then you stitch the photos for a 2D map and you can even go 3D if you need. One of the amazing things of the P3 is that a lot of the functions and design characteristics actually make it useable for technical applications that used to be reserved to UAVs worth at least 10 times the price.
     
    snerd and RyanK like this.
  16. RedRyderMedia

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2014
    Messages:
    750
    Likes Received:
    31
    Timelapse is more typically taken one frame every second......you get 2 seconds of 30 fps video every minute. If you film for 5 minutes, you would get 10 seconds, which is a long cut in a video. I'm guessing the stability of the resulting video will be a function of the gimble performance and the wind. I plan to try a 5 minute shoot and see what I get. I like Timelapse and if it works I have a project next week I plan to use it.
     
  17. Zigs

    Joined:
    May 5, 2015
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    46
    I've done a lot of neat timelapses (on the ground) in <20 minutes. I'm looking forward to experimenting with the P3. Now, if the P3 had a motion controller it would be really interesting. Along with auto landing you could set it, enjoy a beer and wait for it to land. (Of course, with a hammock so you could maintain LOS ;)
     
  18. snerd

    Joined:
    May 5, 2015
    Messages:
    2,633
    Likes Received:
    1,585
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    If I'm understanding you correctly, VPS has nothing to doing with it. It's a gimble function, set in in the gimble settings screen. I'm not near mine now for specific instructions.


    Sent from my iPhone 6+ using Tapatalk Pro
     
  19. Okie Farmer

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    1
    Just a few things I noticed today when trying to find this feature:

    1. I could only access this menu using the on-screen button and not the controller shutter button. Makes sense but it took me several tries before I figured out my error.

    2. With Android DJI Pilot App version 1.2.0, there are now FIVE options:
    Single shot
    HDR
    Multi-shot (3, 5 or 7)
    AEB Multi-shot (3 or 5)
    Timer (5s, 7s, 10s, 20s, 30s)

    3. The last setting is now labeled "timer" which makes is clearer that it just automatically takes individual pictures at the interval specified. This is a function I will use quite a bit when I am flying fields to see crop features. It does not generate a time-lapse movie (like a .avi file) but I think you could use an offline program to generate one using all the photos.
     
  20. Drogon

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2015
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Wilmington, NC
    does anyone have examples?