How to Fly Phantom *2* in Restricted Airspace?

Reaction score
Hi all,

I am a licensed Part 107 pilot and I applied to the FAA for, and was recently granted (yay!!!), a waiver to fly in restricted airspace near a Class E airport.

Having dealt with the FAA, now I need to figure out how to get my bird to actually fly there. :-(

Since the Phantom 2 doesn't use the DJIGo app and therefore can't use the same geofencing unlocking procedure as the later Phantoms & Inspires, does anyone know how I can get my Phantom 2 to fly (*without disabling the GPS*) in the restricted airspace I now have authority to fly in?

Many thanks!

Reactions: Finmann
From what I gather, firmware needs to be PRE 3.08 on the P2. I believe 3.08 added no fly zones.
And do not believe there is a way to unlock it?
I have a first version p2v with 3.06 and I can fly wherever. You might try to locate a NAZA unit with early firmware already loaded on it, or find someone who has a copy. Droneslinger I believe used to but not sure anymore?

I may be wrong, but that is my understanding on it
Hope this helps!

JDot
:cool:

Reactions: dirkclod
Reactions: J Dot
Okay, so it sounds like the only solution is downgrading the firmware to a pre-no fly zone version then?

And, I believe I understand that the way to do that is to get an old version of the Assistant software, and then re-flash the firmware on the bird from that software?

Does that mean I have to blow away the Naza by using the jumper-two-pins trick?
(Which two pins was it again?)

(Alas I'm on a Mac, so I need to find a Mac version of the old Assistant software... it looks like Droneslinger only has the PC software... :-(

Many thanks for all the help.

Okay, so it sounds like the only solution is downgrading the firmware to a pre-no fly zone version then?

And, I believe I understand that the way to do that is to get an old version of the Assistant software, and then re-flash the firmware on the bird from that software?