Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

How many using naza m?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by ifinallygota21v, Jan 1, 2015.

  1. ifinallygota21v

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2014
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just curious how many of you have switched the naza m on?
     
  2. mendezl

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2014
    Messages:
    326
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Mandeville (New Orleans) Louisiana, USA
  3. ifinallygota21v

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2014
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Any reason not to?
     
  4. LordEvil

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2014
    Messages:
    243
    Likes Received:
    61
    Location:
    San Antonio Texas
    agreed, more options
     
  5. N017RW

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Messages:
    6,236
    Likes Received:
    1,606
    Location:
    Palm Beach Co.- FL
    Since flight #3.
     
  6. ifinallygota21v

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2014
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm a brand new owner/pilot and fly aways fear me the most. I just want I make sure I gave all bases covered should something go awry
     
  7. LordEvil

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2014
    Messages:
    243
    Likes Received:
    61
    Location:
    San Antonio Texas
    Set your S1 switch to fail safe (3 click down), less to worry about, test it a few times, you will gain confidence.
     
  8. Crashtestdummy

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2014
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Georgia
    I love me some home lock and course lock.
     
  9. Larry L

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2014
    Messages:
    671
    Likes Received:
    39
    Location:
    Copperas Cove, Texas
    Nothing to be worried about. With S1 & S2 in the up position. You have essentially phantom mode. Naza mode just gives you more options to save your UAV should you need it. Just read up & switch when you are ready.
     
  10. Rustynuts

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2014
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    CB Oregon
    It would probably be better to ask how many are not running Naza M :D When I first got my 2+ I read about going to M but when I went to switch I got the warning and it scared me. Somebody posted a this link and after reading it I. Decided it was a must to switch......wished I would have done it right off.

    http://www.pattayadays.com/2014/03/naza-mode-on-the-phantom-2-vision/
     
  11. Hughie

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2014
    Messages:
    1,477
    Likes Received:
    140
    Location:
    Leeds, United Kingdom
    I think the suggestion that new fliers should not turn on Naza mode is well intended, but misplaced.

    The main point I think is to protect new fliers (and arguably lots of other fliers) from Manual mode. Naza mode, far from being being a problem for new fliers is their friend. Home Lock got me out of the crap a couple of times in my first few flights. Its a nice thing to have.
     
  12. ifinallygota21v

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2014
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0

    Great info!
     
  13. crash1sttime

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2014
    Messages:
    922
    Likes Received:
    74
    Location:
    Manchester UK
    Its a pity the nice little card that hangs off the remote control unit doesnt show the Naza lights system, thats my worry for newbies, they wont know what the lights mean and may take off before the quad has properly settled down so to speak.

    But as of today and having done at least 20 flights as suggested im switching over to it.
     
  14. gunslinger

    gunslinger Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2013
    Messages:
    2,722
    Likes Received:
    497
    Location:
    Least Coast...
    In my opinion NAZA mode's a lot safer. It gives you a lot more options that can get you out of trouble...

    -slinger
     
  15. gcbuss

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2014
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    I like the home lock when the video drops off. I always feel nervous when that happens and it is nice to toggle the switch and bring her back into range.
     
  16. Fplvert

    Joined:
    May 28, 2014
    Messages:
    1,559
    Likes Received:
    708
    Location:
    Southern Idaho USA
    :D
    Absolutely right!
    As long as you set S1 position 3 to failsafe, there is nothing to fear in changing to naza mode. Just make sure your switches are in position 1 when you take off.
     
  17. Eltrochaphantom

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2014
    Messages:
    286
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Uruguay
    TBH I think dji thinks that we are so stupid to think that if we want to fly in GPS we just have to switch S1 and S2 to the up position and that's it. I mean how difficult can it be? And as you were saying it gives you a more safe flight
     
  18. aartsf

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2014
    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    3
    +1 Indeed it is important to avoid accidently swithing to manual-mode as it requires lots and lots of experience to master that.
     
  19. Narrator

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2014
    Messages:
    347
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    Which is why there needs to be less bravado about going straight to Naza mode. For some novices, it will mean too many things to think about at first.

    I fly Naza now, but I'm glad I started with Phantom mode. A couple of times, early on, I knocked S1 or S2 without realizing.

    And no, it's not DJI thinking people are stupid.. that's just silly. Imagine all the claims against them from some novices with too many controls to think about.
     
  20. aartsf

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2014
    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    3
    As Fplvert indicated, s1 position 3 can be programmed as failsave mode instead of manual mode under the Naza mode.