Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

how do you pre-cache the map on a Android Tablet

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by TomWolves, Jun 6, 2015.

  1. TomWolves

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2014
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    9
    how do you Cache a map on a Asus Nexus 7 ? I went out to fly today out in back and I thought I had my map cached, but when I flew the map was all white with little squares. Thank you for your hand and help. Gotta go start the grill before my wife grills me!!!
     
  2. Mal_PV2_Ireland

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2014
    Messages:
    2,589
    Likes Received:
    1,230
    Location:
    Dublin Ireland
    If you forget to cache or if cache doesn't work you can use your phone as a hotspot so your tablet can cache them again. Normally I'd have my tablet on WiFi at home and just zoom in using the Google maps app and it caches, now that's on the p2v+ but phone hotspotting it will do the trick
     
  3. Mako79

    Joined:
    May 16, 2014
    Messages:
    3,418
    Likes Received:
    568
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    Take a drive and find an open hotspot.
     
  4. brushlesheaven

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2014
    Messages:
    250
    Likes Received:
    6
    I fly with my tablet connected to cell hotspot and it works fine....
    Or connect to cell hotspot, let the maps download before flying and without turning the pilot app off, turn off wifi.
    The map info will stay.
    Some tablets when you turn the app off will reset the cache.
     
  5. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    19,116
    Likes Received:
    5,632
    Location:
    US
    On other forums, I've seen Android users mention they open Google Maps and scroll around the area they'll be flying. Google Maps apparently has a feature that'll cache maps for ~30 days. The DJI Pilot application will then be able to use those cached maps since it uses Google Maps.

    Disclaimer:
    I don't own an Android device :)
     
  6. Meta4

    Meta4 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7,767
    Likes Received:
    3,478
    On the Nexus 7, it's a simple matter of opening the app at home, making the map window full screen and zooming into the area you are planning to fly. Just look around at the area in the detail level you want to see and that's it.
    If you don't go down to high detail, the app will not cache at high detail and when you try to soom into the large scale map, it will just show blank white squares.
     
  7. 4wd

    4wd

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    2,532
    Likes Received:
    421
    Location:
    North York Moors
    There's something in this, I seem to be able to get reasonable resolution maps outside fully cached areas. It is using google maps and you aren't absolutely obliged to view the area in advance from within the app.
    It is all a bit of a mystery not aided by DJIs inability to send out additional batteries so use/testing is severely restricted.
    The hotspot idea is all very well if you have coverage, here you can't even send a text over wide areas nevermind get 3G
     
  8. Deadlift

    Joined:
    May 8, 2015
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    18
    So, disclaimer up front, I don't have my P3 yet... but I do have my Nexus 7 in prep for it.... I just tried caching the maps in both google maps and the DJI pilot app...

    I have the Nexus 7(second version with back camera) with no data plan... in prep for my P3.

    I zoomed in to an "intended area" while on wifi, then turned wifi off and tried again... Results:

    Google maps kept the maps with wifi off.

    DJI app was the same, all zoomed in portions were kept.... Actually more areas were kept (that I didn't zoom in on) than the google maps application.

    Next, I turned off the tablet (wifi still off) and back on (still wifi off) "Location" was still "On"... Results:

    Google maps was the same, cached all maps as before.

    DJI app asked if I "wanted to connect to the internet" (I said no), result was the same as before "power off"... Same cached maps at the same zoom level


    Glad you asked the question, hadn't thought to try this test yet, now I'm glad I did, I think it will work in the field where I intend to fly it.

    -D
     
  9. TomWolves

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2014
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    9
    Thanks guys, I don't know what happened today. I just didn't have the area on my Nexus 7. I will try again tomorrow.
    Thanks for your help.
     
    Mal_PV2_Ireland likes this.