Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

  1. 9245

    Joined:
    May 15, 2016
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    23
    I'm still trying to figure out my settings for night flying. I want to take some long exposure stills but I still can't figure out how to set that up. How do I change exposure time? Can someone walk me through it?
     
  2. WilsonFlyer

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2016
    Messages:
    404
    Likes Received:
    156
    Change the top from A to M. That's basically it.
     
  3. Patrick

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2015
    Messages:
    578
    Likes Received:
    153
    Location:
    Albuquerque,NM
    once you change the camera from auto to manual , (i believe this is the default setting for the C2 button). you can manually adjust ISO and shutter speed, just remember the higher the iso the more noise. and the slower the shutter (longer exposure) the more blur you will see if the phantom drifts. find a good balance
     
  4. deltalimatango

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2016
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    54
    The biggest problem here is the the camera in the P4 is great for day and video but it is terrible for low light or night shooting. It is simply not large enough to collect the amount of light needed to take decent night images. However, there is a balance to be had. Try to stay close to say ISO 400 or maybe a bit higher. Also, as the P4 is a moving, vibrating platform that is very stable, it still vibrates and drifts so also try to limit your exposure time unless you want that creative blur effect. I shoot at night often, but I am a photographer and I know the limits of shooting at night when using expensive DSLR's or the P4. Also, use some sort of noise reduction (digital noise) software to remove some of the DN that will inevitably be produced.
     
  5. LV632553

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2016
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    25
    I use P3Adv to take this photo the setting are pretty much the same on the P4 :

    Change to manual mode
    ISO 100
    Shutter speed 2 sec

    For P4 its a much better machine for stability I think you can grad the shutter speed up to 5-8sec depending on the height and wind speed.

    [​IMG]


    Sent from my iPad using PhantomPilots
     
  6. deltalimatango

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2016
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    54
    5-8 seconds? No way. You need a tripod generally over three seconds and you think you can get a moving, vibrating, drifting platform to give clear, non-blurry images at 5-8 seconds. Even in zero wind the images will be blurry at that shutter speed.


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots[​IMG]

    I shot this at night with a 1/30 sec shutter speed.
     
  7. Helihover

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2016
    Messages:
    235
    Likes Received:
    184
    Location:
    Oregon
    IMG_0511.JPG You guys are funny:)

    I have an 8 second exposure around here somewhere as do many others. The P4 is definitely capable. Here's my latest shot last weekend I think. Shot at 1 sec and ISO at 100.
     
    Johnny Bellew and Andy Yong like this.
  8. deltalimatango

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2016
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    54
    Can you post an 8 second shot and blow it up to at least 75%. I'd really like to see it.


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots
     
  9. aaronrivera

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    281
    Likes Received:
    70
    Ive never managed an 8sec exposure widout blur


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots
     
  10. deltalimatango

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2016
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    54
    Exactly. I can't wait to see this 8 second exposure blown up 75% and I want to see how sharp they are.
     
  11. ussvertigo

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2014
    Messages:
    333
    Likes Received:
    69
    Location:
    South Georgia
    Regardless, on a calm night you can get 2 sec 100iso shots that look stunning. I shoot a set at each step from 1-2 sec to pick from. Some may be blurred, but majority are good, it's amazing if it can hold that good. Most of the great night shots I've seen were posted on this forum


    Sent from my iPad using PhantomPilots
     
    #11 ussvertigo, Sep 16, 2016
    Last edited: Sep 16, 2016
  12. WilsonFlyer

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2016
    Messages:
    404
    Likes Received:
    156
    While we're on this topic, has anybody ever figured out how to change exposure compensation at the bottom? I've never been able to change it and sometimes it self-adjusts to levels I want to override. I assume this is not configurable or have I missed something?
     
  13. ussvertigo

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2014
    Messages:
    333
    Likes Received:
    69
    Location:
    South Georgia
    You're right, I wish we could adjust it, future cameras I guess


    Sent from my iPad using PhantomPilots
     
    WilsonFlyer likes this.
  14. deltalimatango

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2016
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    54
    Cameras are just a part of it. Yo need good and capable sensors. DJI uses in house sensors on the P4. If they had used maybe the Sony sensors, night imaging would be better.
     
  15. 9245

    Joined:
    May 15, 2016
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    23
    When I switch to manual I see where I can adjust the ISO but I see nothing that mentions shutter speed. How exactly do I do it?

    Bear in mind I am completely new to photography and have no idea what ISO even means, let alone stops, and all the other settings your talking about.
     
  16. WilsonFlyer

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2016
    Messages:
    404
    Likes Received:
    156
    Understanding Exposure by Brian Petersen. Best 2 hours you will ever spend if you truly want to understand.

    You really want honest advice? Quads are not the place to learn photography. Get your phone or a decent camera and learn what all this stuff means. Until then, set your camera to Auto and enjoy your multi. Two totally different hobbies.

    You asked. :)
     
    Fat Daddy and deltalimatango like this.
  17. deltalimatango

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2016
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    54
    On the bottom right of the screen you see three lines with a dot on each line. Here is where you switch into the adjustment settings but you need to move the camera slider from Auto to M. Once here, look at my images and you will see how to adjust the shutter and ISO.

    To add to what WilsonFlyer said, drone photography is not a place to learn, however you don't want to live your life on Auto. It takes practice. I am a photographer so I know the relationship between ISO, Aperture settings, and shutter speed. Shoot on Auto for a while then shift to manual. Read the user manual to know how to adjust the settings while in flight. I rarely use Auto but I understand how things work and have a bit more experience. It is not hard, nor magic. It just takes patience and practice. You will be fine and don't be hard on yourself.
     

    Attached Files:

  18. deltalimatango

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2016
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    54

    Nope. I have not found a way. The EV levels are linked together in both manual and auto. If you adjust the EV in auto, then the Iso changes. If you adjust the ISO in manual, the EV changes. Pretty stupid in my opinion.
     
  19. With The Birds

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2016
    Messages:
    2,611
    Likes Received:
    743
    Location:
    Australia
    Please enlighten us on the basis for your confidence the P4 uses a new proprietary sensor. The consensus to date, including the little official commentary available from DJI, is that the P4 camera is the same as that in the P3P with the exception of a higher quality lens assembly. It is highly unlikely DJI has entered the sensor design and manufacturing business.
     
  20. deltalimatango

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2016
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    54
    Quite simple. On the DJI site, they mentioned the sensors of the previous Phantoms, but will not disclose the sensor in the P4. They disclose this for the Inspire, the OSMO as well, but not for the P4. As a photographer, I'm pretty good with determining sensor quality. No, I have not done MTF analysis on it but considering I've shot with the best optical sensors on the market: (Nikon D3S, Nikon D4, D4S, current Nikon D810, and in a few hours a Nikon D500), I would say that I have an idea about how a sensor is performing and the sensor in the P4 is not that great. This is my opinion and you are welcomed to accept or not. I know what I am talking about and how to shoot and how to get the most out of any camera sensor.
     

    Attached Files: