Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Help please :) Installed tarot on fc40 with problem

Discussion in 'Phantom FC40 Discussion' started by gfagien, Aug 19, 2014.

  1. gfagien

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2013
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey all i installed a tarot gimbal on my fc40 and it powers up but it seems that the motors are not getting any power, on the gimbal it is showing a solid green and blinking blue light, my friend thinks it is a bad board and its not regulating power to the motors… so i bought a new board today.

    does anyone have experience with this? I'm just wondering if i wasted money buying a new board and just need to return the gimbal.

    Thanks for any help!
     
  2. njpollard

    Joined:
    May 19, 2014
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Caerleon, Wales
    Blinking blue is normal, but solid green (according to the manual) represents over-current. Where are you taking power from?
     
  3. gfagien

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2013
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    i took power from the areas between the phantom motors and the board… tired all 4 areas… didn't want to try to take it from the battery.

    The power to the motors said 16 amps which is obviously way to much so I'm hoping its a bad board.. i ordered a new one, worst case the seller will exchange it for another one but if its just a board I'm hoping its a matter of hooking the new gimbal board up and going (fingers crossed)
     
  4. CarlJ

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2014
    Messages:
    782
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    Peru, Indiana
    Please let me know if you have any questions.
    viewtopic.php?f=19&t=12421&start=10

    Also please ensure that you have the latest firmware for both the control board and the motors (both need to be updated).
     
  5. gfagien

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2013
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    They tried but updating the motors wouldn't work, which again lead them to believe the board was corrupt especially reading 16 volts to the motors