Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Advanced HELP My P3A drifting

Discussion in 'Phantom 3 Help' started by emchocobo, Sep 9, 2015.

  1. emchocobo

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2015
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Indonesia
    dear all P3a/p user

    yesterday i was upgrading the latest P3a Firmware 1.4
    after upgrading it im try to it...
    i put the mode on P
    plane satus is safe flight non GPS....
    out door flight test... my flight is drifting i need to counter
    when the filght status change to "safe Flight GPS" the P3A back to normal...
    but when the satus change back to " safe flight non GPS" my P3A start drifting again

    and then i try to taking off on indoor... everything just fine, no drifting

    is that normal or not?
     
  2. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,990
    Likes Received:
    5,590
    Location:
    US
    It's normal for your Phantom to drift when not using GPS. And, it's a good idea to wait for it to connect to enough satellites before taking off. You can speed up that process by doing an IMU calibration after your Phantom has been sitting in a cool location for a while.
     
    emchocobo likes this.
  3. emchocobo

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2015
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Indonesia
    but when i fly it on the indoor the status is "safeflight NonGPS" too...
    why the P3a not drifting?
     
  4. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,990
    Likes Received:
    5,590
    Location:
    US
    There is no wind inside to make it drift.
     
  5. Altanore

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2015
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    AB, Canada
    It uses VPS to also keep it from drifting so long as the Phantom is within 3 meters from the ground.
     
    emchocobo likes this.
  6. Mordor

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2015
    Messages:
    639
    Likes Received:
    114
    Strange. I did update yesterday, from 1.1.9 and did a IMU (even conect a PC fan against it to hel cool).
    I also notice the P3 driften when use right stick to go foward....

    P.S. All this on P-Mode and conected to satelittes...
     
  7. emchocobo

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2015
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Indonesia
    on the outdoor why the VPS not working?

    -outdoor (night 11 pm) 1 meters from the ground the p3a is drifting
    -indoor 1 meter from the ground the P3A not drifting
     
  8. N017RW

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Messages:
    6,244
    Likes Received:
    1,614
    Location:
    Palm Beach Co.- FL
    It needs light to see patterns, shapes, etc., on the ground below.
    If there's no light then it cannot see the patterns.

    Try taking out a flashlight and illuminating the ground directly below the quad.
     
    emchocobo likes this.
  9. Dronason

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2015
    Messages:
    498
    Likes Received:
    82
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Maybe recalibration of the RC or the compas? They could have been affected.
    I didn't have done them after the upgrade (only IMU recalibration) and didn't observe noticeable drift, but there was a lot of wind today during my first flights after upgrade.
    How did you notice the drift?
     
  10. emchocobo

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2015
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Indonesia
    just like i post ...
    my p3a drifting sometimes drifting fast when "safeflightnoGPS" outdoor
    about 1-2 meter above the ground... 11 pm. with not much light in my back yard

    back normal again when status back to "safeflightGPS"

    im already do
    IMU calibration
    RC calibration
    gimbal calibration
    and also do compas calibration before flight
     
  11. Mako79

    Joined:
    May 16, 2014
    Messages:
    3,413
    Likes Received:
    567
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    Check for any stress cracks on the motor mounts. There could be a motor more angled then the others and causing a bias.