Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Help! Both antennas broke on my remote!

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by algee650, Aug 3, 2016.

  1. algee650

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2014
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    4
    This happened on the same trip. First the left one broke off and then a few days later the right one ...WTF!! This was probably due to a combination of flimsy antenna connector build and DJI backpack. Yes I placed the strap underneath the antennas but I think the problem is if you don't align the antennas to fit exactly underneath the form cutout, then it forces/flexes the tips of your antennas down...if that makes sense. Which is what I think happened to one or both of my antennas.

    In any case, they're both broken off just dangling. Good news is the cables are still connected and I'm able to fly (although the other day I was having erratic video transmission issues). For now I've used electric tape to mickey mouse it together. Any suggestions on the best way to fix? Glue? Tape?

    After scouring the forums, it looks like the best solution is to just mod my remote so I can fly my bird 5 miles or so....Uhhh, at this point not really my thing to fly super far. Besides that, the instructions to mod out your remote look a little too involved for my tastes....cutting, drilling, pliers, tweezers, etc.
     
  2. RedHotPoker

    Joined:
    May 3, 2015
    Messages:
    3,972
    Likes Received:
    1,365
    Location:
    Edmonton Alberta
    Using the @dji hardshell backpack, I always place the security strap below both antenna and underneath the metal handle. By the shape of the cutouts on the foam, it apoears to be made for that orientation.
    Yes, it takes some planning and execution to change out the RC antenna. But there are folks on this forum, that do this RC customizing stuff for fun...

    Perhaps someone here will offer to help you modify your RC. ;-)

    RedHotPoker
     
  3. Peter8686

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    2
    Most of the antenna mods for the P3 Adv/Pro dont require any cutting or drilling as the existing antenna hole can be used
     
    algee650 likes this.
  4. JakeMaxxUAV

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2015
    Messages:
    654
    Likes Received:
    367
    We have a no drilling solution that allows you to go through the stock antenna holes. Long range may not be your thing, but how about a stronger signal? :)

    Let me know if there's anything we can do to help. In the meantime, checkout our website: Maxx UAV - UAV Long Range Solutions
     
  5. flpholt

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2016
    Messages:
    4,178
    Likes Received:
    1,561
    Location:
    palm harbor florida
    when are you going to make a mod for x star
     
  6. JakeMaxxUAV

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2015
    Messages:
    654
    Likes Received:
    367
    ItElite is currently working on an antenna for them.
     
  7. flpholt

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2016
    Messages:
    4,178
    Likes Received:
    1,561
    Location:
    palm harbor florida
    awesome let me know when it comes out want to mod mine soon
     
  8. algee650

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2014
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    4
    Sounds like a possible option. I think I saw a video on this. Problem is the entire antenna popped - this includes the silver casing part of the antenna. Is that going to be a problem?
     
  9. algee650

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2014
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    4
    Cool! Thanks! The more I watch the DIY videos, the more confident I get with doing it...doesn't require a degree from MIT to do = )
     
  10. JakeMaxxUAV

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2015
    Messages:
    654
    Likes Received:
    367
    Yikes... Not necessarily a problem. You could plug them and then drill new holes in that case. Do you have a picture?
     
  11. algee650

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2014
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    4
    Yup, here you go...
     

    Attached Files:

  12. algee650

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2014
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    4
    Dammn, uploading that pic opened up the wounds again :cry:
     
  13. JakeMaxxUAV

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2015
    Messages:
    654
    Likes Received:
    367
    You know what... I bet our clean install kit would be perfect for that. The washer fits over the silver ring, it would keep it in place.
     
  14. algee650

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2014
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    4
    Ok, I'll peep out your site and all your options, and go from there.

    Question...do you guys offer to do the mod for us? For a fee of course = )
     
  15. algee650

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2014
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    4
    I just checked out your clean install kit. The pics look like I'd need to have the silver ring intact to install???
     
  16. algee650

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2014
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    4
    Nevermind. I just re-read your reply. Ok, what else would I need besides the clean install kit to complete this setup? Thanks!
     
  17. JakeMaxxUAV

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2015
    Messages:
    654
    Likes Received:
    367
    The installation service is $99, but it's not really difficult. You could either get some omni antennas off of amazon that are similar to stock, or upgrade to the ItElite antenna
     
  18. Numone

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2016
    Messages:
    879
    Likes Received:
    237
    Location:
    Surrey, England
    I never use that strap in that config; I go over the top of the foam like this...
    image.jpg

    ... to hold the iPad Air in place. I always make sure the foam inserts close completely, making sure nothing is trapped before zipping the case up.
     
  19. RedHotPoker

    Joined:
    May 3, 2015
    Messages:
    3,972
    Likes Received:
    1,365
    Location:
    Edmonton Alberta
    Ah yes, Thee zipper is a good tell tale signal, if it binds.
    I place my iPad Air2 above the foam insert too, but just have it in a protective plastic sleeve. Once the foam is reinserted into the lid/back, it holds snug enough.

    As long as nothing is compressing the RC, or delicate antennas particularly, it's an aweome enough carrying/storage solution.

    RedHotPoker
     
    Numone likes this.
  20. Numone

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2016
    Messages:
    879
    Likes Received:
    237
    Location:
    Surrey, England
    Like the idea of a plastic sleeve. Nice one RHP! And yeah, for £30 it's a total steal.