Help assessing second-hand Phantom 3 advanced

Reaction score
Hi guys,

I'm thinking about buying a second hand Phantom 3 advanced drone and would like some advice from experienced people, since I'm very new to the drone business:

- I'm still hesitating between buying either a brand new Phantom 3 standard or a second-hand Phantom 3 advanced. Price is the same (i.e. $500), and the second hand P3A was bought in June (but the seller cannot provide the receipt...), apparently only has less than an hour of fly time and is apparently in perfect conditions. Any recommendations here?

- Before buying a second-hand, I'd like to test it. Given that I'm totally unexperienced, I'm not sure that I'd be the best at doing it. Would someone be interested in helping me testing it this weekend? The test will take place in Melville, NY, so if you live around that would be perfect. However I'll be driving from NYC (Williamsburg) so I can give a lift to anyone in the city. I can compensate for this of course.

Many thanks in advance for your help and precious advice on this.

Burt

I recommend waiting until January to see how prices drop on new/reburbished phantoms. Last year they dropped in January even though they had already dropped for the holidays.

Don't get the standard.
$500 is no great bargain for used but fair
I would be more concerned about some flight data from healthy drones that provides battery cycles and condition and you can see actual flight times.

Thanks a lot for your quick reply, much appreciated!

Budman, why do you recommend me not to get the standard? Is the difference very significant between the standard and the advance for a beginner like me?

Mark, thanks a lot for your recommendation, but I'm not sure I'll be able to wait until then...I'm so impatient ;)

Thanks a lot for your quick reply, much appreciated!