Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

HELP: After-Market Gimbal

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Vision + Discussion' started by omaha330, Jul 9, 2014.

  1. omaha330

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2014
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    I recently built a custom gimbal but im having a little issue getting it workingh properly and I’m not sure on the optimal way to control it.

    If I plug the Gimbal (brushless motor) into the F1 port on the Naza-M-V2, all it does is lock its position, but it doesn’t move or respond to any inputs.

    If I use a standard servo it works fine, it so the NAZAs F1 port and the slider are working fine, but not with the motor Im using in this gimbal

    I only need the one F1 channel for the camera will pan left and right with the slider on the transmitter, preferable in the “FPV-Locked” State. I don’t need any auto-correction so it should be quite simple but im not getting it…

    I’ve have worked with brushless motors before and used ESC’s, but I can’t see that being what I need here, these mini brushless motors draw very little current, and I need slow methodical movement, and quick response, not high-speed or torque like a ESC typically does.

    What am I missing here? What is my best option to let me pan this little brushless motor left and right with the slider and all I need is around 40 degrees.

    The best I can come up with is a simple gimbal controller, and use only the angle-controller portion, and use it to set the limits of movement,

    What am I looking for? Do they make a stripped down version of a GCU? What is the circuitry would I be using to do this?

    Any ideas?
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Mori55

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2014
    Messages:
    1,993
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    NJ-USA
    Why are you posting here ?
     
  3. omaha330

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2014
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    wow , that was friendy :((

    I guess I posted here because it went out from the factory is a "Phantom II Vision +" but in this case it is carrying a diferent gimbal and camera I want to use.

    ~Tasha~
     

    Attached Files:

  4. omaha330

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2014
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    I did a quick fix (see pic above ) to keep it straight until i can figure it out how to pan pan
     
  5. Mal_PV2_Ireland

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2014
    Messages:
    2,589
    Likes Received:
    1,230
    Location:
    Dublin Ireland
    Not many here will have experience in adding a third party gimbal. You'd be best off posting in the general section.
     
  6. dezunka

    Joined:
    May 27, 2014
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    I can't help you with your problem but that looks like a nice setup! What camera are you running? It looks like it's got a pretty good optical zoom?
     
  7. EMCSQUAR

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2013
    Messages:
    1,692
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    N 44.895 W 93.354 Minnesota
    Try plugging it into F2. Top pin = ground, middle = power, bottom = signal.
     
  8. omaha330

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2014
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
  9. omaha330

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2014
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    I did try both ports...F1 & F2
     
  10. omaha330

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2014
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    MOD can you push this to the right forum plz
     
  11. ___

    ___

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    Nice! Also great to know that aftermarket gimbals for the P2V+ are out there. I really hope you get it working!