Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Ground Station question

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Vision Discussion' started by rewt, Feb 10, 2015.

  1. rewt

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Flying in ground station mode, do we have control over the phantom at all times? and if we do should we even try to control it while on a mission? or is it a bad idea. Also, what if we have set flight limits in our phantom and then attempt to send it on a mission with the ground station thats beyond those limits will it work?
     
  2. Spiritskeeper

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2015
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    1
    You have semi control. Think of ground station as autopilot. As long as autopilot is engaged the pilot doesn't have any control input. When the autopilot is disengaged full control is returned to the pilot. If the bird is outside the range of the controller autopilot cannot be disengaged.

    Ground station is set and GO is pushed, autopilot is engaged when GO is pushed. At this point the bird is flying according to preprogrammed flight plan. If the bird flies out of the control range of the remote it will continue the flight plan as programmed. To disengage the autopilot flip S1 down from GPS atti(top) position to the middle position and back to the top position. This regains full control, disengaging the autopilot.

    Whether you SHOULD program a flight outside the control range and then let the bird fly it is a pilot decision.
     
  3. ccase39

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2015
    Messages:
    471
    Likes Received:
    17
    you can also pause the flight plan and the bird will stay idle. I wish it would allow you to yaw when it is paused but it wont. I suppose you could flip your S1 switch, regain control, and when you are done doing what you want go back to ground station and make a new plan. I have never tried this. Im gonna give it a shot tomorrow. I usually start my programmed flight at about 150 feet just as a precaution and let it come down from there depending on my plan. Remember that it gains elevation gradually and if you are doing a long distance flight make sure you start high enough to clear any obsticals you may not be able to see.
     
  4. RCRookie

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    703
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    East Texas
    You might be able to control yaw in sensor mode, since camera pitch works, so i believe with acclerometer sensor mode, should also work on your phone or tablet, while in a paused state. I havent tried it during a mission, but it does work in normal flight mode.
     
  5. crash1sttime

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2014
    Messages:
    928
    Likes Received:
    74
    Location:
    Manchester UK
    In the app based version of GS you can not control the crafts yaw when it is paused and hovering, you can only change the pitch of the camera, as for the PC version or Ipad version I don't know